• CD DFA2220CD£13.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. K
  • 2. Yo-Yo
  • 3. Beep
  • 4. Italian Movie Theme
  • 6. M-Train
  • 7. Buzz
  • 8. No Clocks
  • 9. Reptiles
  • 10. Spider
  • 11. Gyrate
  • 12. Altitude
  • 13. Crazy (original)
  • 14. Yo-Yo (pylon mix)
  • 15. Gyrate (pylon mix)
  • 16. Four Minutes

DFA have re-issued this classic post-punk/punk disco album from 1983!

To describe Pylon as ahead of their time is somewhat misleading, because it implies that there was ever a moment when music finally caught up with them. The architects of a sound unlike any of their Athens, Georgia, contemporaries and the inspiration for numerous post-punk imitators, Pylon still sounds unlike anything before or since.

This is DFA's second Pylon reissue (following the 2007 release of the Gyrate) and offers inarguable justification for their seminal status. This is an expolsive record jammed pack jagged guitar lines, wiry bass, propulsive drumming, and Vanessa Briscoe's startling vocals. 'Crazy', which R.E.M. would later famously cover, sees guitarist Randy Bewley avoiding his usual sharp angles and instead taking a jangly respite, while Briscoe veers from a moody monotone to arresting snarls and piercing yelps. 'Yo-Yo' strips down to herky jerky staccato guitar and a few perfectly placed lyrical melodies; 'Gyrate' buzzes with antsy, danceable energy; 'Altitude' is a gorgeous and dreamy study in loud-quiet-loud dynamics. 

In addition to remastered versions of the LP's twelve original tracks, Chomp More includes the 7-inch version of 'Crazy', a 'male version' of  'Yo-Yo' on which Briscoe merely guest stars, Pylon's own frenzied, frenetic remix of 'Gyrate', and the rarely heard single 'Four Minutes' an ineffably beautiful pastiche of homemade and seemingly found noise. These innovative songs speak to the timeless vision of four young people who unwittingly created a sound that is still innovative, fresh, and distinct. More than three decades on, Pylon continues to lead while music, as always, lags safely behind.

People also bought

Deutsche Elektronische MusikExperimental German Rock and Electronic Music 1972-83Soul Jazz Records
The first seeds of German rock and experimental electronic music were planted in 1968, as students and workers in Paris, Prague, Mexico and throughout...
  • Deluxe 2×CD£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP Vol.1£17.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP Vol.2£17.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
  • MP3 Release£9.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
Whitefield BrothersEarthologyNow-Again / Stones Throw
AMAZING new album from Whitefield Brothers on Now-Again! While the Whitefield Brothers debut album 'In The Raw''s hypnotic, defiantly psychedelic funk...
  • LP£15.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£13.99
    In stockAdd to Bag
Les Disques Du Crépuscule 1980-1985Les Disques Du Crépuscule 1980-1985LTM
Amazing compilation of post-punk from cult Factory off-shoot label Les Disques du Crepuscle!   Les Disques du Crepuscle are one of the least know and...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
AntenaCamino Del Sol (1982)Les Disques du Crépuscule
Awesome leftfield classic! A Harvey fave! A double disc re-issue with live versions Delicate Balearic minimal synth oddity! Originally released on...
  • 2×CD£12.99
    Out of stock
Object Music 1978-1981Object Music 1978-1981LTM
Object Music was one of a very few small Manchester based labels which was outshone by labels such as Factory, Rabid and New Hormones. Object Music was...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Factory Benelux 1980-1985Factory Benelux 1980-1985LTM
Factory Records and Les Disques du Crépuscule (a record label from Belgium, formelly known as Benelux hence the name of the compilation) teamed...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Eric RandomSubliminal: 1980-1982LTM
Wicked minimal synth rarities! This double CD version contains the first three Eric Random singles on New Hormones and Les Disques du Crepuscule labels...
  • 2×CD£11.99
    Out of stock
    Minimal ManThe Shroud of Minimal ManBoutique
    Wow! Essential reissue of this super rare post punk minimal synth album from the fertile San Franciscan post punk scene! Alongside acts such as Chrome...
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock
    Cabaret VoltaireThe Voice of AmericaMute
    Classic 1980 minimal synth/industrial album from Sheffield's finest sons, Cabaret Voltaire! This is an essential Cabs album! Dubby, experimental tape...
    • CD£8.99
      Out of stock
    DIYThe Rise of the Independent Music Industry After PunkSoul Jazz Records
    Do It Yourself charts the rise of the independent music industry after punk – from the hundreds of bands and tiny labels that sprung up with like-minded...
    • 2×LP£14.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock
    • MP3 Release£7.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
        Jimi Tenor / Tony AllenInspiration InformationStrut
        Wow! This is the brlliant collaboration between legendary Nigerian drummer and pioneer of the afrobeat sound Tony Allen and Finnish electronic jazz free...
        • CD£10.99
          Out of stock
        Fly Girls!B-Boys Beware: Revenge Of The Super Female RappersSoul Jazz Records
        ‘Fly Girls!’ celebrates the 30th anniversary of female rap on record ! This double-CD (and limited edition two volumes of super-loud double-vinyl)...
        BloChapters And Phases: The Complete Albums 1973-1975RPM
        Taking the mid-seventies Nigerian scene by storm, 1973’s 'Chapter One' and 1975’s 'Phase II' are amazing fusions of traditional rhythms, rock...
        • CD£9.99
          Out of stock
        DJ NobodySummer HitsLow End Theory
        Mixtape crafted by Nobody for the Low End Theory Japan Tour 2009.  Mashing up dubstep, hip hop, electronic betas and more!  Limited pressing...
        • CD£14.99
          Out of stock
        The SlitsCutIsland
        Nice re-issue of this classic post punk album which includes their essential cover of "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" as a bonus track. This album was...
          MahssaOyun Havasi! Volume 1.Dub Lab / Future Roots Inc
          A collection of Persian delights brought to you by the deep diggers' at DubLab.com and Finders Keepers!! OYUN HAVASI....!!! This is the fourth installment...
          • CD£13.99
            Out of stock