• LP MRBLP105£19.99
    Out of stock
  • CD MRBCD105£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Shango
  • 2. Prisoner Of Law
  • 3. Mr Lonely Wolf
  • 4. Freedom Dance
  • 5. Go Go's Feast
  • 6. Mystery Tour
  • 7. Now I'm A Man
  • 8. Watusi

Jaw-dropping funk, jazz and afrobeat fusion from one of Nigeria's finest instrumentalists!

Originally recorded in 1974 in a Camden studio session funded by money from a TV soundtrack recorded by King a few years earlier, it remained unreleased for close to 30 years despite King releasing five albums in the years that followed. 

Headed by King, who wrote and played saxophone and flute, the band included David Williams on bass, Paul Edoh on congas, James Menin on drums, Arthur Simon on guitar, Mike Falana on trumpet and Humphrey Okoh-Turner on alto sax. Together they fused funk, jazz and afrobeat and added hard-hitting vocal messages including calls for freedom in Africa – album closer Watusi is about the struggle for freedom and democracy in Angola during the 1970s – and references to African history and the Yoruba religion. Shango is the foremost Yoruba deity, god of thunder and storms, and on this album his energy is clearly channelled into the horn lines and devastating grooves found throughout the eight tracks.