• CD MRBCD095£12.99
    Out of stock
  • LP MRBLP095£16.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. O Prego (Love Me, Kiss Me)
  • 2. Felizes Juntinhos
  • 3. Lindo Sonho
  • 4. Um Milagre Aconteceu
  • 5. Garota Teimosa
  • 6. Quasi Fico Nu
  • 7. Ao Meu Amor
  • 8. A Praca
  • 9. Dexcubram Onde Meu Bem Esta
  • 10. Se Voce Quer
  • 11. Nosso Romance

An incredibly original album of 'Brazilian Nuggets' from the Mocambo/Rozenblit catalogue.

Os Canibais had a meteoric rise to fame starting in 1964 in Rio de Janeiro. The group was originally made up of Aramis (guitar/vocals), Serginho and Max (vocals) and later they brought in Denise Baker (vocals) and Horacio (piano).

Originally the group was to be called 'The Drunks' but after careful consideration they chose the much catchier Os Canibais (The Cannibals). They decided on this non-English name to differentiate from the Jovem Guarda TV era: The Fevers, The Jordans, The Clevers and so on...; Jonas Silva, A&R at Mocambo, signed them and their first single sold over 100,000 copies and made it into the Top 10. They broke new ground by becoming the first Brazilian pop-rock group to perform with a live orchestra in 1966 on TV in Rio, when the system of playbacks was still in its early days. They made one more LP under the pseudonym of 'Bango' on Musidisc label, where their psychedelic style was compared to Os Mutantes.

People also bought

Elis Regina In LondonUniversal Sound
Soul Jazz Records/Universal Sounds Original Brazil Classics series. Legendary Brazilian vocalist Elis Regina's stunning 1969 landmark London album. An...
Tamba TrioTempoUniversal Sound
Soul Jazz Records/Universal Sounds Original Brazil Classics series. Following on from our earlier release ‘Avanco’ comes Tempo –...
Billy Parker's Fourth WorldFreedom Of Speech (1975)Strata-East
An absolute CLASSIC deep jazz album originally released on Strata-East in 1975. This is a Japanese only release (never before re-issued) that at £19.99...
  • CD£19.99
    Out of stock
Sun RaFour Classic AlbumsReal Gone Jazz
A super price for over 60 tracks of the wonderful jazz mystic Sun Ra! All digitally remastered.
  • 4×CD£6.99
    Out of stock