Numero 33 Light: On The South Side Book & LP

  • 2×LP + Book (2.4Kg) num033£59.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. arlean brown – i'm a streaker baby
  • 2. bobby rush – bowlegged woman
  • 3. ricky allen – no better time than now
  • 4. little mac simmons – the same one
  • 5. lady margo – this is my prayer
  • 6. andrew brown – you made me suffer
  • 7. artie white – gimme some of yours
  • 8. lucille span – woman's l'b
  • 9. hugh hawkins – bring it down front
  • 10. slim willis band – i sayed that
  • 11. little ed – it's a dream
  • 12. syl johnson – is it because i'm black (instr)
  • 13. walter 'butter' davis – baby watcha' doing
  • 14. willie williams – detroit blues
  • 15. little mack – goose walk
  • 16. detroit jr – young blood
  • 17. wille davis – i learned my lesson
  • 18. james kind – california lady

'Light: On The South Side' gathers for the first time over 100 of these images, as Numero shines its own strobe on yet another dark corner of the past!  This is a massive 132-page hard back book which features beautiful photos, an ephemera section, and an essay by Nick Hornby. Housed in a gorgeous slipcase with the 12X12 book is 'Pepper's Jukebox', a seventeen track compilation of the kind of funky Chicago blues heard from the stage and the Wurlitizer. The deluxe 2LP set is packaged in a sharp gatefold jacket with two inner sleeves crammed to the gills with label scans and stories. All in all, it's the classiest Numero record ever made, spotted easily from across the room with it's near 2" spine!

Between 1975-1977 Chicago's South Side night clubs were a little lighter. Not just because of a lanky white guy skulking about, but rather because of the camera and strobe light he carried. Michael Abramson hit Perv's House, Pepper's Hideout, The High Chaparral, The Patio Lounge, and The Showcase Lounge, not to capture the artists on stage, instead popping off a half dozen rolls every night on the crowd.

This is a BEAUTIFUL book and compilation and PERFECT present!

You need this, BUY NOW!