Eugene Blacknell We Can't Take Life For Granted

Luv n' Haight
  • CD LHCD055£10.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP LHLP055£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Eugene blacknell – Welcome dudes and dollies (intro)
  • 2. Eugene blacknell and the savonics – Jump back
  • 3. Eugene blacknell – Mo self
  • 4. Eugene blacknell and the new breed – Cousin john
  • 5. Eugene blacknell – Gettin' down
  • 6. Eugene blacknell – The trip
  • 7. Eugene blacknell – I'm so thankful lucky 13 radio spot (interlude)
  • 8. Eugene blacknell – Get in a hurry
  • 9. Eugene blacknell – I'm so thankful
  • 10. Eugene blacknell – Dance to the rhythm
  • 11. Eugene blacknell – We know we have to live together
  • 12. Eugene blacknell – We know we have to le gordon bleu radio spot (interlude)
  • 13. Eugene blacknell – Fro the sake of love
  • 14. Eugene blacknell – Jive kinda friends
  • 15. Eugene blacknell – Hard times
  • 16. Eugene blacknell – Holdin on
  • 16. Eugene blacknell and the savonics – Don't stop now
  • 17. Eugene blacknell – We can't take life granted
  • 17. Eugene blacknell and the four rivers with the savonics – gro-ve mon-key
  • 18. Eugene blacknell – Welcome brothers and sisters (interlude)
  • 19. Eugene blacknell – Wahwah funk
  • 20. Eugene blacknell – Echo reply (interlude)
  • 21. Eugene blacknell – Space funk
  • 22. Eugene blacknell – Live
  • 23. Eugene blacknell – Early jam session

This compilation is made up of his super rare early releases as Eugene Blacknell and the Savonics, the highly sought after raw instrumental funk as Eugene Blacknell and the New Breed, his big band party-style vocal tracks, and a host of unreleased material including the radio advertisements, live recordings, and both vocal and instrumental studio cuts. Fans of Bay Area Funk will recognize the different musical periods that Blacknell goes through with comparisons ranging from acts like Johnny Talbot and Tower of Power to Sly Stone and Graham Central Station.

People also bought

    The Nite-litersAnalysisRCA
    Serious hard funk band from 1973, includes a great version of Donny Hathaway's "Valdez In The Country".
    • Reissue LP£8.99
      Out of stock
    Herbie HancockMaiden Voyage (1965)Blue Note
    Brilliant, brilliant album - every track's a winner! Highly recommended!
    • CD£7.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • Reissue LP£13.99
      Out of stock
    The PropositionsFunky DispositionLuv N' Haight
    Includes the original versions remastered, all the collectible 7"s, and several unreleased tunes. This is the only complete album of recordings from one...
    • 2×LP£12.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×CD£12.99
      Out of stock
    Karl Hector & The MalcounsSahara SwingNow Again
    Now-Again Records follows up The Heliocentrics’ percussive excursions into the astral realms of psychedelia with an album of Afro-tinged funk music...
    • CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£13.99
      Out of stock
    Gil Scott-HeronPieces Of A Man (1971)Flying Dutchman
    Must-have Gil Scott-Heron album featuring "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised" and "Home Is Where The Hatred Is".
    Weldon IrvineCosmic Vortex (1974)BMG
    100% Stone-cold rare groove classic. "Walk that Walk" is a heavyweight monster tune. ESSENTIAL!By 1974, 31 year-old Weldon Irvine was ready for the next...
    • Reissue LP£13.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • CD£11.99
      Out of stock
        Muddy WatersElectric Mud (1968)Cadet Concept
        Heavy, Heavy, Heavy psychedelic funk rock! One of the finest albums recorded on Cadet - Marshall Chess's off-shoot label for Chess Records. Featuring the...
          Jamaica FunkOriginal Jamaican Funk & Soul 45'sSoul Jazz Records
          The music on this album contains original Jamaican funk and soul mainly released on 45s released in the years 1972-78. These cross-cultural musical gems...
          • CD£11.99
            Out of stock
          • 2×LP£14.99
            Out of stock
          Cold HeatHeavy Funk Rarities 1968-1974 Vol.1Now Again
          An essential rare funk album compiled by one of Stonesthrow's main men Egon. This is the follow up to the highly acclaimed 'Funky 16 Corners'. Recommended.
          • 2×LP£17.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£9.99
            Out of stock
          Wayne Henderson and The Freedom SoundsSoul Sound System (1968)Atlantic
          Trombonist Wayne Henderson formed The Freedom Sounds ('a big-little band') whilst still a member of The Jazz Crusaders and delivered some scorching soul-jazz...
          • Reissue LP£10.99
            Out of stock
          Paul BurtonSo Very Hard To Make ItJazzman Records
          Sweet soul, rare as hens teeth nugget. Re-issued by the Jazzman camp.
          • 12"£6.99
            Out of stock
          Isaac HayesThe Isaac Hayes Movement (1970)Stax
          Classic mellow soul epics! Features the brilliant "I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself".
          • CD£6.99
            Out of stock
          • Reissue LP£10.99
            In stockAdd to Bag
          • Original LP£12.00
            Out of stock
          Wayne Henderson and The Freedom SoundsPeople Get Ready (1967)Atlantic
          Super heavy and rare original. Groovy and heavy percussion with the tough and melodic harmonies of Jazz Crusaders trombone man Wayne Henderson. Very Recommended! great...
          • Original LP£25.00
            Out of stock
          Howard TatePlenty Of LoveJAD
          Super funky soul business!
          • Original 7"£10.00
            Out of stock
          Isaac HayesHot Buttered Soul (1969)Enterprise
          Backed by The Bar-Kays and featuring epic versions of "Walk On By" and "By The Time I Get To Phoenix". Awesome!
          Bronx River ParkwaySan SebastianTruth & Soul
          Now available on LP! Truth & Soul, in conjunction with Candela Records present the first full-length from New York's premier latin-soul band, Bronx...
          • LP£10.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£12.99
            In stockAdd to Bag
          Snoop Doggy DoggDoggystyleDeath Row Records
          Classic P-Funk sampling gangster boogie fuelled debut album from Snoop Doggy Dog on Death Row Records prouced by Dr. Dre. Featuring all the classics 'Gin...
          • 2×LP£23.99
            Out of stock
          • CD£9.99
            Out of stock
          The HeadhuntersStraight From The Gate (1977)Arista
          A second killer funky jazz set from Herbie Hancock's offshoot group featuring Bennie Maupin, Paul Jackson and more. Essential!
          • Reissue LP£11.99
            Out of stock
          Hank CrawfordI Hear A Symphony (1975)Kudu
          "Move You No Mountain" - definitive Loft/Garage jazz funk classic version! Dancers only.
          • Original LP£10.00
            Out of stock
          Alice ClarkAlice ClarkMainstream
          The Holy Grail of modern soul!  Share in the secret and find out why this album is so highly regarded! Very highly recommended!
          • New LP £11.99
            Out of stock