Don Cherry Art Deco (1988)

  • CD E3952582£9.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Art Deco
  • 2. When Will The Blues Leave
  • 3. Body And Soul
  • 4. Bemsha Swing
  • 5. Maffy
  • 6. Folk Medley
  • 7. The Blessing
  • 8. Passing
  • 9. I've Grown Accustomed To Your Face
  • 10. Compute

Recorded during August, 1988, this fascinating album features three-quarters of the early Ornette Coleman Quartet plus the rarely heard Texas tenorman, James Clay who played with Cherry in Los Angeles in the '50s. Highlights include Thelonious Monk's 'Bemsha Swing', Ornette Coleman's 'The Blessing' and a wonderful version of 'Body and Soul' which is a feature for James Clay.