• Reissue LP MRBLP099£17.99
    Out of stock
  • CD MRBCD099£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Asafo Beesuon Medley
  • 2. Beebi A Odo Wo Medley
  • 3. Yebeyi Wo Aye (Ebibrim Blus)
  • 4. Do Me Ma Mondo Wo Bi
  • 5. Matow Aboa*
  • 6. Araba Lucy*
  • 7. Fawakoma Ma Me*
  • 8. Se Menya Wo A*
  • 9. Efi Na Matase*
  • 10. Ye Wo Abo Awokanka*
  • 11. Medzi Makoma Ma Wa*
  • 12. Nyama Mna Wo Nkoso Nyiampa Rebre*

C.K. Mann made his name as a virtuoso guitar player in Ghana when he played with Moses Kweku Oppong in the Kakaikus Guitar Band in the early 60s. He then became the leader of the band Ocean's Strings until 1966. In 1968, he enjoyed a hit with the single 'Edina Benya'.

Mann was known for blending authentic African music with European influences. He was inspired by Latin American music and created a style all of his own. He became known as the 'King of Highlife' in Ghana in the 70's, when he released the record 'Nimpa Rebre' featuring vocals from Pat Thomas and Kofi Yankwon.

Funky Highlife came out of the Essiebons label run by Dick Essilfe Bondzie. According to Dick, this album could have been a massive hit in Ghana but the vinyl factories ran out of stock because of Ghana's economic downturn, so the demand for the record could not be met. The album is a fusion of highlife and soul. The best-known track 'Asafo beesuon' is a multi-layered, drum heavy, funk medley and is over 13 minutes long. The original LP is a hard-to-find and sought-after collectors item.

The re-issue vinyl LP has the same tracklisting as the original, while the CD has an extra 8 bonus tracks (40 minutes). LP comes with download code for full CD tracklist.

*CD Bonus Track