Blackbyrds Walking In Rhythm: The Essential Selection 1973-1980

  • 3×LP DEC1101-LP£19.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×CD DECCD1101£12.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Do It Fluid
  • 2. Gut Level
  • 3. A Hot Day Today
  • 4. I Need You
  • 5. The Baby
  • 6. Blackbyrds Theme
  • 7. Future Children/Future Hope
  • 8. Walking In Rhythm
  • 9. Rock Creek Park
  • 10. Happy Music
  • 11. City Life
  • 12. Flying High
  • 13. One-Gun Salute
  • 14. Wilford's Gone
  • 15. Time Is Movin
  • 16. Party Land
  • 17. Enter In
  • 18. Soft and Easy
  • 19. Supernatural Feeling
  • 20. Mysterious Vibes
  • 21. What We Have Is Right
  • 22. Love Don't Strike Twice
  • 23. Without Your Love
  • 24. Don't Know What To Say
  • 25. Summer Love (CD only)

Donald Byrd was one of the greatest and most successful practitioners of the fusion of soul and jazz. A group of Byrd's Havard University students, took their name from 1973 Blue Note LP forming  The Blackbyrds in 1974. Their albums, produced by Donald Byrd and Larry Mizell's Sky High Productions, made a major impact on dance floors with classics "Rock Creek Park", "Happy Music" and "Do It Fluid" to name a few.  A complete retrospective here well-known hits as well as key album cuts, rarities and extended dance floor mixes. 

People also bought

Throwing Shade Mystic Places / Lights Ominira
Throwing Shade debuts on Kassem Mosse's Ominira imprint. Londoner, NTS host, and ethniomusicalogist, Throwing Shade showcases her "irdescent digital...
Tommy McCook Orchestra / Jackie MittooSampson / El Bang BangSoul Jazz Records / Studio One
WORLDWIDE EXCLUSIVE - ONLY AVAILABLE HERE! Premium 180-gm heavyweight 12" Studio One bomb! Strictly 200 copies worldwide. Super-rare Ska cut now...
KnxwledgeKauliflowrAll City Dublin
L.A via Philadelphia, beatmaker Knxwledge back at home with All City Dublin with "Kauliflowr", an 18-track mini LP -- soulfully crafted hip-hop instrumentals....
  • LP£10.99
    Out of stock
Studio One Ska FeverMore Ska Sounds From Sir Coxsone's DownbeatSoul Jazz Records
A blistering collection of ska tunes from Clement 'Sir Coxsone' Dodd's legendary Studio One Records, Jamaica's foundation label of reggae music. Featuring ...
DJ PremierRare PlayBare Fist
First in the series from DJ premier himself compiling all his classic production. 18 Killer cuts. 1 DJ Premier - Rare Play Intro ...
  • CD£12.99
    Out of stock
      Winston FrancisMr Fix ItStudio 1
      orginally released in 1969 recorded at studio 1, soulful rocksteady check "games people play" "mr.fix it" "same old song" "too experienced"
      • Reissue LP£9.99
        Out of stock
      Masta Ace Ma_DoomSon Of Yvonne Fatbeats
      The fourth studio album from Masta Ace, with beats sourced from MF Doom's LEGENDARY Special Herbs series. constructed into stories, settings and characters,...
      • 2×LP£15.99
        Out of stock
      Apollo Brown & Guilty SimpsonDice Game Fatbeats
      Detroit's Apollo Brown and Guilty Simpson collaborate on "Dice Game" - YES!!! 16 tracks not for the faint hearted, we're talking all raw honest lyrics...
      • 2×LP£14.99
        Out of stock
      • CD£12.99
        Out of stock
      New York Transit Authority Swarm Lobster Boy
      Better known as Bristolian Mensah, under his NYTA guise he navigates around 120 – 130bpm 80′s Electro, House and Techno.  808-dominated...
      Milton WrightFriends And BuddiesAlston
      Funky soulful Miami monster! Features the rare groove classic "Keep It Up"!  Milton Wright joined by his sister (Betty) and the Alston in-house crew...
      • Reissue LP£9.99
        Out of stock
      Terrence ParkerWhy After All ThisJD Records
      Awesome classic cuts from one of Detroit’s finest house producer of all time Mr Terrence Parker."Why After All This", chopping up an Alexander O'Neal...
      • 12"£11.99
        Out of stock
      Messengers IncSoulful Proclamation (1972)Jazzman
      Early seventies heavy funk & deep soul, with outstanding vocals from shortlived small time Oklahoma soul band "Messengers Inc".  Considered...
      • LP£18.99
        Out of stock
      • CD£10.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
        Four Tet Beautiful RewindText
        Much talked about and highly anticipated album from Kieran Hebden. Almost coming as a surprise, 'Beautiful Rewind' delivers on what the speculation has...
        • LP£11.99
          Out of stock
        • CD£8.99
          Out of stock