Albert Ayler Spirits Rejoice (1965)

  • CD 9786309933546£7.99
    Out of stock
  • New LP LPESP1020£22.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Spirits Rejoice
  • 2. Holy Family
  • 3. D.C.
  • 4. Angels
  • 5. Prophet

Albert Ayler from 1965 with Charles Tyler, Sunny Murray, Henry Grimes and Gary Peacock.

Live 1965 recording of Ayler's large septet configuration, featuring brother Donald, Charles Tyler, Sunny Murray and both Henry Grimes and Gary Peacock on bass. Compared to the bare trio of Spiritual Unity this nearly big band of two bass players and a strong horn section allows Ayler's expressive vision depth from the joyous to the agressive in five original Ayler compositions.