• Vin Morgan – I'll Rise Again
    • Vin Morgan – Survivor Dub
    • 1. I'll Rise Again
    • 2. Survivor Dub

    Vin Morgan is well known by record collectors for being the man behind Soul Defenders Band (Studio One in-house band after Sound Dimension) and most of all the writer and vocalist of Roots anthem ‘Jah Love’ (New Era, 1984). Even if the larger audience haven’t heard his name much, Vin Morgan is probably one of the greatest songwriters of Jamaica. Musical director at Studio One in the seventies, Vin knows how to combine good writing with catchy melodies to get hits. Shadow worker, he only released his first solo album in 2017. This gem album was produced by Iroko Records and Roberto Sánchez and it features killer song ‘Thanks A Lot’.

    Beautifully sung by Vin’s falsetto, ‘I’ll Rise Again’ was recorded in Kingston under the musical direction of legendary bass player and producer Boris Gardiner. It also features guest drummer and longtime Studio One partner Leroy “Horsemouth” Wallace. ‘I’ll Rise Again’ has a strong lyrical content that shall give hope and strength to all survivors: “I’ll rise again, in the sunshine, through the rain / I’ll rise again, patch up the bruises and ignore the pain / I’ll rise again, don’t let the system conquer me / I’ll rise again, I wanna choose my destiny”. Words, sound and power! credits

    Other Releases on Skankin' Society Records

    Big YouthLong RoadSkankin' Society Records
    The 18th Parallel presents another scorcher with DJ superstar Big Youth. On a rockers one drop riddim led by the funky touch of drummer extraordinaire...
    • – Long Road
    • – Dub Road

    People also bought

    Brazilian Beats BrooklynMr Bongo
    **Reissue of Mr Bongo's classic compilation** Compiled by Sean Marquand and Greg Caz, 2 DJs well-known for their epic parties at Williamsburg’s legendary...
    • Nonato E Seu Conjunto – Cafúa
    • Novos Crioulos – Mar Afunda
    • Zé Roberto – Crioula Multicolorida
    • Rita Lee – Agora É Moda
    • Trio Esperança – Não Aguento Você
    • Toni Tornado – O Jornaleiro
    • Som Três – Tanga
    • Noriel Vilela – 16 Toneladas
    • Chocolate Da Bahia – Êle Guenta
    • Tim Maia – É Necessário
    • 2×LP£23.00
      Out of stock
    Sébastien TellierLa RitournelleRecord Makers
    'La Ritournelle' is undoubtedly Sebastien Tellier's biggest song. Since its first release in 2003, it kept growing and circulating throughout the world...
      • 12" EP£13.00
        Out of stock
      George FaithSuper Eight aka To Be A LoverStudio 16
      aka "To Be A Lover" originally released in 1977 on Black Swan in the U.K. Lee Perry's wicked Black Ark production and George Faith's soulful vocals make...
      • – I've Got The Groove
      • – Opportunity
      • – Turn Back The Hands Of Time
      • – There's A Train
      • – Midnight Hour
      • – To Be A Lover
      • – Diana
      • – So Fine
      Daryl Hall & John OatesI Can't Go For That (No Can Do) (1981)RCA
      MONSTER Classic tune! In pic sleeve - hmmm nice!
        • Original 7"£8.99
          Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+
          Out of stock
        Weldon IrvineCosmic Vortex (1974)BMG
        100% Stone-cold rare groove classic. "Walk that Walk" is a heavyweight monster tune. ESSENTIAL!By 1974, 31 year-old Weldon Irvine was ready for the next...
          Carl DawkinsI'll Make It Up / Hot & StickyHarlem Shuffle Records
          Ruff & Tuff double header from 1968, Carl Dawkin's highly sought after "I'll Make It Up" originally a B-side on Duke Records now with the equally brilliant...
          • – I'll Make It Up
          • – Hot & Sticky