• New LP (Coloured Vinyl) GONDLP60LE£26.00
      Out of stock Notify me
    • CD GONDCD60£14.00
      Out of stock Notify me
    • Phi-Psonics – Invocation
    • Phi-Psonics – An Offering
    • Phi-Psonics – We Walk in the Gardens of Our Ancestors
    • Phi-Psonics – Green Dreams
    • Phi-Psonics – Where We've Been
    • Phi-Psonics – Lunar Reflections
    • Phi-Psonics – Becoming
    • Phi-Psonics – New You
    • 1. Invocation
    • 2. An Offering
    • 3. We Walk in the Gardens of Our Ancestors
    • 4. Green Dreams
    • 5. Where We've Been
    • 6. Lunar Reflections
    • 7. Becoming
    • 8. New You

    Phi-Psonics is a meditative, deeply soulful immersive jazz group from Los Angeles, led by bassist Seth Ford-Young and featuring Sylvain Carton on woodwinds, Mitchell Yoshida on electric piano, and Josh Collazo on drums. Their deeply soulful music draws on jazz and classical influences together with Ford-Young’s own musical experiences, relationships, and his introduction to spirituality, yoga and philosophy at a young age, along the way they create something uniquely their own, beautiful landscapes for your thoughts to roam within.

    Octava is their second album and like the Cradle before it’s emotional, introspective, and unusual approach to spiritual jazz offers us a beautiful space for uplifting contemplation and wields a quiet power to create a spiritually inspiring world of timeless, warm melodies and instrumental exploration for the deep listener. Originally from Washington DC area, Ford-Young moved to California in the early 90s and fell in love with the deep sounds of the upright bass and the music of Charles Mingus, John and Alice Coltrane, and Duke Ellington along with Bach, Chopin, Pärt, and Satie. He immersed himself deeply in music and keen to learn combined intense personal study with collaborations, tours, and recordings with artists such as Tom Waits, Beats Antique, and John Vanderslice. In 2010 he moved from the San Francisco Bay area to the Los Angeles hills and continued his explorations and although Phi-Psonics music has been described as spiritual jazz, or deep immersive listening music but this is music for fans of Radiohead and The Invisible as well as fans of Alice Coltrane and Pharaoh Sanders.

    Other Releases by Phi-Psonics

    Phi-PsonicsMama / Drum TalkSecond Thoughts Records
    Deep, deep, Pharoah Sanders-inspired, spiritual jazz music from LA based quartet, Phi-Psonics! Huge recommendation from us
    • – Mama (Trio)
    • – Drum Talk

    People also bought

    Al Tanner QuintetHappiness Is... Takin' Care of Natural Business... Dig?Jazzman
    Deep, deep jazz mega-rarity from 1968 reissued via Jazzman!
    • – Zaltanica
    • – The Magi
    • – Kuba!
    • – Poor Me
    • – Bronson's Blues
    • – Rolon's Groove
    African Head ChargeA Trip To BolgatangaOn-U Sound
    African Head Charge return to On-U Sound with their first new album in twelve years. Titled A Trip To Bolgatanga, the recordings are led by founder member...
    • – A Bad Attitude
    • – Accra Electronica
    • – Push Me Pull You
    • – I Chant Too
    • – Asalatua
    • – Passing Clouds
    • – I'm A Winner
    • – A Trip To Bolgatanga
    • – Never Regret A Day
    • – Microdosing
    Los Dexter's De UchizaFiesta En La JunglaRitmo Del Barrio
    Carrying the torch of psychedelic cumbia, with a healthy dose of surf guitar and Amazonian dancefloor flourishes from Peru and Brazil alike, Fiesta en...
    • – Fiest En La Jungla
    • – Fuga En La Selva
    • – Tu Partida
    • – Agua De Calchide
    • – La Chicharra
    • – Dolor y Pena
    • – Izango
    • – El Shiringuero
    • – A Jenny
    • – Linda Tocachina
    • – Para Mi Gente
    • – Tragedia En Uchiza
    Studio One WomenSoul Jazz Records
    Ska, rocksteady, funky reggae, roots, dub mixes, disco mixes, they're all here from the queens of the Jamaican music scene - Studio One Women features...
    • Claudette Mclean – Give Love Another Try
    • Jennifer Lara – My Man
    • The Soulettes – A Deh Pon Dem
    • Della Humphrey – Dream Land
    • Jennifer Lara – Consider Me
    • Denise Darlington – War No Right
    • Hortense Ellis – I'm Just A Girl
    • Angela Prince – No Bother With No Fuss
    • Jerry Jones – There's A Chance For Me
    • The Soulettes – King Street
    • Jennifer Lara – Tell Me Where
    • The Tonettes – I'll Give It To You
    • Marcia Griffiths – Tell Me Now
    • The Jay Tees – Come to me
    • Angela Prince – You A Fool Boy
    • Jennifer Lara – I am In love
    • 2xLP (+ Download Code) SJRLP121£28.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • CD (Limited Edition Coloured CD) SJRCD121C£12.00
      In stockAdd to Bag
    • MP3 Release SJRD121£9.99
      In stockAdd to Bag