• 12" EP£12.99
      Out of stock
    • Mode/IQ – Competition
    • Mode/IQ – Confidence
    • Mode/IQ – Looking Thru Your Mind
    • Mode/IQ – Two Different Things
    • Mode/IQ – At Random
    • Mode/IQ – I'm Immune
    • 1. Competition
    • 2. Confidence
    • 3. Looking Thru Your Mind
    • 4. Two Different Things
    • 5. At Random
    • 6. I'm Immune

    Platform 23 continue to do a great service to all seekers of furtive sounds from the DIY underground, this time shining a light on the wonderful Mode I/Q. Anyone who digs the sound of New York-tinged new wave and danceable post punk will love this record - the limber disco funk of the rhythm section meets with squalling guitar textures and dubby FX, all shot through with a hooky pop sensibility that makes this record so easy to fall in love with. "Confidence" is especially strong, as is the ramshackle party starter "Two Different Things". It seems there's no end to the overlooked gems from this golden era of independent music - it's time to catch up with Mode I/Q and file them next to your favourite disco-not-disco movers and shakers.

    People also bought

    Brazil Funk Power - Brazilian Funk & Samba SoulLimited Edition Record Store Day 7" BoxsetSoul Jazz Records

    IN STOCK - Get it while u can!

    Soul Jazz Records' Brazil Funk Power – Brazilian Funk & Samba Soul features ten superb, rare and classic Brazilian funk and soul cuts across five individual bespoke 7" singles housed in a box set.

    This release is the 2nd of Soul Jazz Records 3 Record Store Day 2020 titles and is an exclusive one-off pressing, limited-edition collectors seven-inch box set, which will be deleted on the day of release.

    This release features some of the funkiest Brazilian music ever made - music by Jorge Ben, Banda Black Rio, Tim Maia, Toni Tornado, Cassiano performing some of the best tunes ever to come out of Brazil!

    Classics from the superb 70s Afro-Brazilian Funk & Soul era of Brazil’s own Black Power Movement (‘Movimento Negro’) sit alongside a dancefloor-heavy selection of Samba Soul and Boogie, Afro-percussive Brazilian funk and more!

    All tracks have been digitally re-mastered and the singles come housed in a thick, heavyweight deluxe card box.

    This box set is a one-off pressing exclusively for Record Store Day.

    • Jorge Ben – Meus Filhos, Meu Tesouro
    • Brasil Ritmo – Novo Dia
    • Azymuth – Manha
    • Donato & Deodato – Whistle Stop
    • Tim Maia – Gostava Tanto De Voce
    • Jorge Ben – Taj Mahal
    • Cassiano – Onda
    • Luiz Gonzaga Jr – O Comeco Da Festa
    • Novos Baianos – Tinindo Trincando
    • Dom Um Romao – Kitchen (Cosinha)
    Flora Purim & Airto MoreiraHumble People (1985)Concord Jazz

    Killer Brazil/Jazz fusion w/ Flora, Airto, Jerry Gonzales, Milton Cardona, Dave Sanborn, Joe Farrell

    • – Bad Jive
    • Original LP£10.00
      Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' money-back guarantee!
      Out of stock
    Mongo SantamariaFuego (1972)Vaya

    Funky latin jazz, with a cool version of 'Last Tango In Paris'

      • Original LP£18.00
        Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Secondhand french reissue in shrink in great condition
        Out of stock
      Phil Moore IIIAfro Brazil Oba! (1967)Tower

      Very rare and excellent latin jazz album from Phil Moore

        NazambaShe SolidZamZam Sounds

        ZamZam 82 is a first ever collaboration with another label and it is the nighty Dubquake Records from Geneva who get involved on this special cut. The story goes that 'She Solid' was born when Dubquake's Rico and Steph played Nazamba the Von D instrumental while driving in the Alps. He was immediately struck with inspiration and began writing in the car. It's a tight, bubbling tune with clean, modern bass and shiny synths as well as tumbling toms and oodles of reverb. The dub is taken in more weird and tripped out dictions thanks to some mad nob twiddling.

        • Nazamba – She Solid
        • Von D – She Dub
        • 7"£10.00
          Out of stock
        Negative ApproachTied DownTouch And Go

        Reissie of Negative Approach's classic 'Tied Down' album; the undisputed champs of Midwestern hardcore in the early to mid-80s!

        • – Tied Down
        • – Hypocrite
        • – Evacuate
        • – Said And Done
        • – Nothing
        • LP (Coloured Vinyl) + Download Code£18.99
          Green vinyl edition w/ download code
          Out of stock
        Micky MilanQuando Tu Dances (inc. Faze Action and Willie Graff edits)Faze Action Records

        "Quando Tu Dances" was a hit for Micky Milan back in 1982 when it came out on Salsoul, and it has that seminal label's brand of disco funk spilling out of every bar. Now Faze Action have drafted a strong serving of remixers to bring a few deft touches to some of Milan's biggest hits, leading in with Willie Graff and his tasteful edit of the title track that lets the original vibe shine through in all its sunny finery. Faze Action themselves take on "C'est Une Bombe" - another slick '80s jam with plenty of boogie licks to complement the warmth of the guitar and Latin percussion. Finally we get an untouched original, the more spaced out cosmic pop jam "Les Vacances On S'eclete, On S'evade".

        • – Quando Tu Dances (Willie Graff Edit)
        • – C'est Une Bombe (Faze Action Edit)
        • – Les Vacances On S'eclete, On S'evade
        • 12"£8.99
          Out of stock
        Jean & TrevorBack TogetherAthens Of The North

        Athens of the North reissue a rare 12" that brings together two of the finest lovers singers to ever duet, the late Jean Adebambo and Trevor Walters, covering Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway's 'Back Together Again'.

        • – Back Together
        • – Back Together (Dub)
        • 12"£10.99
          Out of stock
        Colleen Grant / Sandra HamiltonLatin Parang / Parang JamSoundway

        Soundway reissue two rare, Parang dancefloor cuts from early 1980s Trinidad & Tobago!

        • Colleen Grant – Latin Parang
        • Sandra Hamilton – Parang Jam
        • 12"£9.99
          Out of stock
        TenderloniousOn Flute22a

        **Repress of Tenderlonious' modern classic mini LP, featuring the dancefloor anthem 'Song For My Father'!**

        Tenderlonious returns home to his label 22a with this stunning six track EP. As the title suggests 'On Flute' shows us how diverse Tenderlonious's musicianship is as he embellishes each song with his signature flute sound fusing elements of jazz, house, afro and broken beat! 'Song For My Father' takes first prize - an upbeat number fusing funk and disco that builds to a climax with one of Tenderlonious's wild flute solos. 'Ghana' is a close second with up-tempo afro beats, complimented by keys, strings, a distinctive lead synth and of course a soaring flute solo!

        This is his best work to date and comes highly recommended from the team here! Limited as always so you know the drill!

        • – Ghana
        • – Autumn Leaves
        • – Oedo Bushi
        • – Song For My Father
        • – In A Sentimental Mood
        • – Dale's Corner
        • 12" EP£16.99
          Out of stock
        Earth To MickeyBrace & BiutL.A. Club Resource


        Delroy Edwards channels early Depeche Mode and Fad Gadget through his experimental synth pop guise, Earth To Mickey!

        • – Brace & Biut
        • – Factory Beats
        • – Pleasure Comes and Pleasure Goes
        • 12"£13.00
          Out of stock
        Short-Term MemoryPlus Or Minus TwoSéance Centre

        Séance Centre issues early 80s material by cult, Kansas City based minimal wave group, Short-Term Memory.

        • – Twitch & Jerk
        • – Yelping Doggies
        • – City In Mind
        • – Hysteria
        • – The Veldt
        • – The Words
        • 12" EP£18.99
          Out of stock