• LP OMME1001£21.99
      Out of stock
      • 1. Creole O Voudoun (Yanvalou)
      • 2. Ayizan Marche (Zepaules)
      • 3. Signaleagwe Orroyo (Yanvalou)
      • 4. Zulie Banda (Banda)
      • 5. Ibo Lele (Ibo)
      • 6. Ghede Nimbo (Mahi)
      • 7. Nogo Jaco Colocoto (Nago Crabino)
      • 8. Miro Miba (Congo)
      • 9. Po' Drapeaux (Petro Mazonnei)

      Maya Deren (1917-1961) was a Russian-American filmmaker and one of the most important voices in avant-garde cinema of the mid-20th century. When she decided, between the end of the 40s and the beginning of the 50s, to make an ethnographic film in Haiti. Deren not only filmed, recorded and photographed many hours of voodoo ritual, but also participated in the ceremonies. It was in working on this film that Deren recorded the Haitian musicians found on these sides originally released in the very early days of Elektra records. 'Voices Of Haiti' (here repressed as a 12" with new mastering) -a beautiful artifact of percussion and chant heavy ritual music- is one of the earliest and best Western ethnographic documents of voodoo culture in Haiti. It is unmissable both for its historical value and for the beauty and spiritual power of the music it contains. Limited to 500 copies!

      Other Releases on Fantôme Phonographique

      G. I. GurdjieffImprovisationsFantome Phonographique
      G. I. Gurdjieff was an Armenian and Greek philosopher, spiritual teacher, and musician, whose teachings of The Fourth Way influenced thousands worldwide...
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – May 20, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – May 12, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – June 8, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – April 15, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – October 14, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – June 30, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – June 18, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – June 18, 1949
      • G. I. Gurdjieff – June 15, 1949

      People also bought

      Boyd JarvisBlink Blink (1991)Movin' Records
      Boyd Jarvis in the house 91 - original sounds Original 12" Vinyl VG+ /Sleeve VG+100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe...
      • Boyd Jarvis – Blink Blink (New Shoes)
      • Original 12"£9.99
        Out of stock
      Gumba Fire: Bubblegum Soul & Synth Boogie In 1980s South AfricaVarious ArtistsSoundway
      Soundway dig deep again and present a selection of 18 rare 1980s cuts that highlight the period that nestles in between the ‘70s (where American-influenced...
      • The Survivals – My Brother
      • Stimela – Mind Games
      • Hot Soul Singers – Hlala Nami
      • Zoom – Wayawaya
      • Ashiko – Gumba Fire (Madlakadlaka)
      • Monwa & Sun – Heartbeat
      • Ntombi Ndaba – Do You Trust Amajita?
      • The Black Five – Selallane
      • Starlight – Picnicing
      • Zasha – Hayi Ngodlame
      • Condry Ziqubu – She’s Impossible
      • General Peter Maringa – Listen To Me
      • Zasha – Arrow Dub
      • Ozila – Wola Wola
      We Out HereVarious ArtistsBrownswood Recordings
      Gilles Peterson's Brownswood Recordings releases an album of exclusives that focuses on London’s bright-burning young jazz scene, this compilation brings...
      • Maisha – Inside The Acorn
      • Ezra Collective – Pure Shade
      • Moses Boyd – The Balance
      • Theon Cross – Brockley
      • Nubya Garcia – Once
      • Shabaka Hutchings – Black Skin, Black Masks
      • Triforce – Walls
      • Joe Armon-Jones – Go See
      • Kokoroko – Abusey Junction
      • 2×LP£19.99
        Out of stock
      • CD£11.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      Break ReformNew PerspectivesAbstract Blue
      1. ghosts (non album track) 2. freefall (previously unreleased) 3. what do you do (previously unavailable) 4. metropolis (unknown quantity mix) 5....
      • 2×LP£11.99
        Out of stock
      Freedom, Rhythm and SoundPOSTERSoul Jazz Records
      Oh yes! 50 x 70cm KILLER poster!! Choose "Poster Freepost" if you want this poster sent with any other item at NO extra postage charge (poster will be...
      Nubya GarciaWhen We AreNyasha
      **Back in stock!** Saxophonist, composer, bandleader and DJ, Nubya Garcia launches her own 'Nyasha' imprint with her highly anticipated EP - When We...
      • Nubya Garcia – When We Are
      • Nubya Garcia – Source
      • Nubya Garcia – When We Are (K15 remix)
      • Nubya Garcia – Source (Maxwell Owin remix)