Jay Dee Yancey Boys (Instrumentals)

    Delicious Vinyl
      • 1. Timeless
      • 2. We Here
      • 3. R U Listenin’?
      • 4. Alien Family
      • 5. Strugglin’
      • 6. Showtime
      • 7. Swagger
      • 8. DFTF
      • 9. All Good
      • 10. Sounds Like Love
      • 11. Everytime
      • 12. Illasoul
      • 13. Air Signs

      Shortly after Jay Dee’s younger brother Illa J’s solo debut was issued on Delicious Vinyl, the label and the artist knew the next step in honouring Jay Dee’s legacy was to issue the complete instrumentals from Yancey Boys as a stand-alone release.

      This mother lode of previously untouched (at the time) beats dates as far back as Jay Dee’s time working on the Pharcyde’s sophomore album, 1995’s Labcabincalifornia .As Delicious Vinyl owner Michael Ross explains, “From ‘95 through ’98 Jay Dee was mygo-to guy for hot beats and remixes. He was always making beats, always. So there was a select amount of tracks that he composed for me during that time, tracks as good as anything he’d done, only they never got used.” Once these beats were used for Illa J’s Yancey Boys they were presented to the public on Yancey Boys Instrumentals.