• Home Boy And The C.O.L. – I'll Make It On My Own
    • Home Boy And The C.O.L. – Money's Funny Change Is Strange
    • Home Boy And The C.O.L. – Home Boy's Revenge
    • Home Boy And The C.O.L. – Time To Change
    • Home Boy And The C.O.L. – Love Was The Cost
    • 1. I'll Make It On My Own
    • 2. Money's Funny Change Is Strange
    • 3. You And Me
    • 4. Are You Lonely
    • 5. Home Boy's Revenge
    • 6. Funk Yourself To Death
    • 7. Can't Get Enough
    • 8. Time To Change
    • 9. You Bring Out The Love
    • 10. Love Was The Cost

    The album we are proudly presenting you today (Home Boy And The C.O.L.) is Cecil Lyde’s self-titled debut under the ‘Home Boy’ name and was released in 1982 on his own label Alwest Records. The whole album is backed by a fantastic cast of all-star players that includes John Stephens (Miles Davis, Stevie Wonder), Fred Brown (Gwen McCrae), Rommel Sinclair (Fred Wesley), Gary Bell (Lionel Hampton), Carl Lockett (Pharoah Sanders, Chuck Mangione) and Terry Carter (Swamp Dogg).

    These recordings (ten songs in total) are particularly interesting to boogie-enthusiasts because of their high doses of funky twerks, solid grooves, crazy synth work, excellent drumbeats and Cecil’s soulful Doo-wap influenced vocals. This album just oozes Soul, Funk and Boogie…you’ll quickly find yourself shaking hips the moment the needle hits the first track! Also included are the tracks ‘I’ll Make It On My Own’ (which became a hit in the UK’s Norhern Soul scene) and ‘Home Boys Revenge’ which was later remixed by DâM-FunK (Stones Throw Records). All of the above makes this LP an essential purchase for any self-respecting fan and collector

    Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl reissue of “Home Boy And The C.O.L.” originally released and privately pressed on Alwest Records in 1982. This rare record (original copies tend to go for LARGE amounts on the secondary market) now comes as a deluxe 180g vinyl edition, strictly limited to 1500 copies worldwide with obi strip and features the original artwork. Released exclusively for Record Store Day 2022 and available in participating stores on April 23, 2022.

    Other Releases on Tidal Waves Music

    Calvin KeysFull Court PressTidal Waves Music
    On the album we are proudly presenting you today (Full Court Press) you’ll find seven sublime tracks recorded in 1984 and released in 1985 on the Olive...
    • – You Are All I Need
    • – Bus Scene
    • – Growing Pains
    • – Touch
    Azar LawrenceShadow DancingTidal Waves Music
    On the album Shadow Dancing (released in 1985) you can hear the musical versatility only an artist like Azar Lawrence can deliver. Next to his trademark...
      HarariGenesisTidal Waves Music
      Tidal Waves reissue this heavy, South African funk/soul album from 1977.
      • – Genesis
      • – Feel Hear And See
      • – We've Got Rhythm
      • – Marabi
      • – Senyamo
      • – The Love Of God
      Pat ThomasStage TwoTidal Waves Music
      Stage Two from 1976 comes swinging right out the gate with a set of nine monster tunes, heavy drum-breaks, reggae infused afro-beats, funky bass lines,...
      • – Let's Think It Over
      • – La La La La La La
      • – We're Coming Home
      • – Think About It
      • – Sweet Gloria
      • – I Need You Around
      • – Fishes (Mankind)
      • – Let's Do It Now
      • – Let Me Feel As I Am
      Howard RobertsLord Shango (Original 1975 Motion Picture Soundtrack)Tidal Waves Music
      Somewhere amid the sea of pimps and tough guys, Blaculas and Blackensteins that came to characterize the films of the Blaxploitation era was a curious...
      • – Jenny's Theme
      • – Funky, But??
      • – Some People
      • – Walk Softly
      • – Sailin'
      • – It Was You
      • – Streak O'Lean
      • – Jesus, Sweet Jesus
      • – Glory, Glory
      • – Be Ready For The Judgement Day
      • – Banjoko
      • – Come To The Water
      • – My Lord, He Calls Me
      Fuzzy HaskinsRadio ActiveTidal Waves Music
      ‘Radio Active’ is filled with keyboard-driven spacey funk, sharp hooks, popping bass-lines, JB styled soulful (yet sexy) vocals, a hint of disco, fantastic...
        Tal RossGiant ShirleyTidal Waves Music
        The results of Tal’s nearly 25-year funk-fermentation are compelling, with a beefy stew of blues, funk, eastern rhythms, psychedelia, percussive textures,...
          Pharoah SandersMoon ChildTidal Waves Music
          Tidal Waves Music reissue of Pharoah Sanders' cult album 'Moon Child'. Recorded in France in 1989. First vinyl issue since its initial release.

            People also bought

            J DillaGeniusNot On Label
            Collection of early cassette recordings from the one and only J Dilla. Features a selection of raw unreleased Dilla originals. "Genius" includes 14 remastered...
            • – A1
            • – A2
            • – A3
            • – A4
            • – A5
            • – A6
            • – A7
            • – B1
            • – B2
            • – B3
            • – B4
            • – B5
            • – B6
            Duda e sua OrquestraFrevoNot On Label
            quality Frevo from north-east Brazil
              • Original LP£20.00
                Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+
                Out of stock
              Joyce with Mauricio MaestroFemininaFar Out Recordings
              This fabled 11 minute+ version of Brazilian icon Joyce's groundbreaking "Feminina" was recorded at Columbia Studios, New York in 1977, for the as yet unreleased...
              • – Feminina
              Sampa the GreatBirds And The BEE9Big Dada
              Before her critically acclaimed album “The Return” (Ninja Tune), equal partssongwriter, poet, singer and lyricist Sampa The Great made her mixtape...
                Ennio Morricone/Chet BakerI know I Will Lose YouMoochin' About
                The meeting of Ennio and Chet in 1962 was a sublime encounter and couldn't have come at a better time for both artists. For years, many Chet Baker fans...
                  Sex PistolsThe Original RecordingsUMC
                  The Sex Pistols: The Original Recordings covers a historic period when the band were rarely out of the news or the charts. The Sex Pistols left the British...
                    New Life TrioVisions Of The Third EyeFinders Keepers
                    Official super limited-edition bespoke independent press release of this SEMINAL and iconic, 1979, spiritual jazz classic! Super-rare, spiritual jazz...
                    • – Empty Streets