• 1. Ain’t No Reason
      • 2. Green And Yellow Daughter
      • 3. Cry And Show Me
      • 4. Hussein (I’m Lucky
      • 5. Forget Her
      • 6. Get So Mad
      • 7. Keep On Trying
      • 8. Feeling Good
      • 9. Forever (My Darling Don’t Cry)
      • 10. All Over The World (Ain’t That Lovin’)
      • 11. Angry Fire (Intestical Swing)
      • 12. Feeling Like Ahh Lover Should
      • 13. Lovin’ Toll Man Suite
      • 14. It Was (Wars Of Armageddon)

      The results of Tal’s nearly 25-year funk-fermentation are compelling, with a beefy stew of blues, funk, eastern rhythms, psychedelia, percussive textures, and even some rock ‘n’ roll for good measure. The album’s roots lie deep in the Mississippi Delta style of brooding blues. Whereas his former band eventually shed their hard funk for a more accessible sound, Ross surprisingly stays true to Funkadelic’s early style here on ‘Giant Shirley’. Alternating between red hot and cool funk, the album takes the listener on a fantastic journey not witnessed since Clinton and company’s early 70s output.

      This unique album is far from the standard “shake your whatever” genericness that the majority of the P-Funk camp had embraced by this point and comes highly recommended for fans of Parliament/Funkadelic (and for 70s psychedelic/funk rock collectors in general).

      Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl release of Giant Shirley (it was only available briefly on CD in the mid-nineties), supervised by P-funk archivist & producer Aris Wilson. Available as a deluxe 180g DOUBLE vinyl edition with obi strip.

      Other Releases on Tidal Waves Music

      Galt MacDermotGhetto SuiteTidal Waves Music
      Reissue of this rare 1972 conceptual funk-soul-jazz album!
        Home Boy And The C.O.L.Home Boy And The C.O.L.Tidal Waves Music
        The album we are proudly presenting you today (Home Boy And The C.O.L.) is Cecil Lyde’s self-titled debut under the ‘Home Boy’ name and was released...
        • – I'll Make It On My Own
        • – Money's Funny Change Is Strange
        • – Home Boy's Revenge
        • – Time To Change
        • – Love Was The Cost
        Azar LawrenceShadow DancingTidal Waves Music
        On the album Shadow Dancing (released in 1985) you can hear the musical versatility only an artist like Azar Lawrence can deliver. Next to his trademark...
          Wendell HarrisonFly By NightTidal Waves Music
          Wendell Harrison was born in Detroit in 1942 where he began formal jazz studies for piano, clarinet and tenor saxophone. At 14, while still in high school,...
            Maxwell UdohSurvival Of The FittestTidal Waves Music
            LP£36Rasman Maxwell Udoh was one of the best things to come out of the Nigerian music scene in the 80s and 90s. Born on the 29th of August 1959 and passed...
              HarariGenesisTidal Waves Music
              Tidal Waves reissue this heavy, South African funk/soul album from 1977.
              • – Genesis
              • – Feel Hear And See
              • – We've Got Rhythm
              • – Marabi
              • – Senyamo
              • – The Love Of God
              Pat ThomasStage TwoTidal Waves Music
              Stage Two from 1976 comes swinging right out the gate with a set of nine monster tunes, heavy drum-breaks, reggae infused afro-beats, funky bass lines,...
              • – Let's Think It Over
              • – La La La La La La
              • – We're Coming Home
              • – Think About It
              • – Sweet Gloria
              • – I Need You Around
              • – Fishes (Mankind)
              • – Let's Do It Now
              • – Let Me Feel As I Am
              Howard RobertsLord Shango (Original 1975 Motion Picture Soundtrack)Tidal Waves Music
              Somewhere amid the sea of pimps and tough guys, Blaculas and Blackensteins that came to characterize the films of the Blaxploitation era was a curious...
              • – Jenny's Theme
              • – Funky, But??
              • – Some People
              • – Walk Softly
              • – Sailin'
              • – It Was You
              • – Streak O'Lean
              • – Jesus, Sweet Jesus
              • – Glory, Glory
              • – Be Ready For The Judgement Day
              • – Banjoko
              • – Come To The Water
              • – My Lord, He Calls Me

              People also bought

              Kuumba-Toudie HeathKawaidaReel Music
              Limited 40th anniversary edition. An essential piece of spiritual jazz history featuring legends Herbie Hancock and Don Cherry. Pressed on heavyweight...
                • LP£20.00
                  Out of stock