The Blackbyrds Rock Creek Park / Gut Level

    Expansion Records
      • 1. Rock Creek Park
      • 2. Gut Level

      The Blackbyrds are an American soul and jazz-funk fusion group from Washington DC, inspired by their mentor and trumpeter Donald Byrd. They signed to the Fantasy label in 1973, and released seven original albums and one remixes compilation between 1974 and 1980. Members include drummer Keith Kilgo (who reformed the group in 2012) and keyboard player Kevin Toney. Both “Rock Creek Park” and “Gut Level” are among their most classic recordings, signature tracks which still resonate with UK and international audiences today.

      “Rock Creek Park” was written by the group and produced by Donald Byrd; “Gut Level” was composed by trombonist Lincoln Ross of The Three Pieces and produced by the legendary Larry Mizell.

      Other Releases by The Blackbyrds

      The BlackbyrdsParty Land / In Life (1976)Fantasy
      Wicked funk soul disco tune
      • – Party Land
      • Original 7" Fantasy 794£7.99
        Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original USA pressing unplayed 45
        In stockAdd to Bag
      The BlackbyrdsNight Grooves (1978)Bgp / Fantasy
      Featuring the rare groove classics "Happy Music", "Do It Fluid" and "Rock Creek Park"
        • New LP BGPD147£18.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • Original LP£15.00
          Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG+Original = USA Vinyl

          100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' money-back guarantee!
        • CD CDBGPM147£7.99
          In stockAdd to Bag

        Other Releases on Expansion Records

        Bill SummersDon’t fade awayExpansion Records
        Bill Summers is a latin jazz percussionist from New Orleans who ventured in to jazz funk and soul in the 70s and early 80s. He also played with Herbie...
          Roy AyersChicago / D.C. CityExpansion Records
          SEMINAL JAZZ FUNK DEEPNESS! Limited Edition hand numbered 7” – 1000 Copies: First time 7” release of much sampled “Chicago” by iconic jazz funk...
          • – Chicago
          Timeless LegendEverybody Disco - Parts 1 & 2Expansion Records
          SUPER RARE BOOGIE FUNK SOULFUL UPLIFTING MASTERPIECE!Hand Numbered. Only once before on 7" in 1979. Extremely rare now with originals have a collectors...
          • – Everybody Disco
          Leo's SunshippGive Me The SunshineExpansion Records
          BOOGIE FUNK CLASSIC! AS GOOD AS IT GETS! Hand Numbered. There are two versions of an iconic 'rare groove' track back to back. The first is a reissue of...
          • – Give Me The Sunshine

          People also bought

          William StuckeyEverything That's Good in LifeAthens Of The North
          Unreleased soul music from William Stuckey - pure class - backed with an alternate 7" mix of 'Hold Me Close' from his mega-rare 1979 album of the same...
          • – Everything That's Good in Life
          • – Hold Me Close (7" Mix)
          Leo NocentelliAnother SideLight In The Attic
          Light In The Attic issue the 'lost' album 'Another Side' from The Meters guitarist, Leo Nocentelli!
          • – Thinking of the Day
          • – Riverfront
          • – I Want To Cry
          • – Pretty Mittie
          • – Give Me Back My Loving
          • – Getting Nowhere
          • – Till I Get There
          • – You've Become a Habit
          • – Tell Me Why
          • – Your Song
          Soul SupremeSoul SupremeSoul Supreme Records
          **Repress with alt. art!** Stunning debut from Soul Supreme who stopped us is our tracks with those ESSENTIAL versions of two A Tribe Called Quest classics,...
          • – Easy Breezy
          • – Rich in Soul
          • – Snakes
          • – Keep Moving
          • – Mellow Thompson
          • – Huit Octobre 1971
          • – Born with a Desire
          • – Summertime on Mars
          • – Orbit
          Disco Reggae RockersSoul Jazz Records
          This album is released in three formats: Indies-only One-Off Special Limited Edition Sun Yellow coloured vinyl gatefold double LP + download, black vinyl...
          • Devon Russell – Move On Up
          • Crashers – Flight To Jamaica
          • Valerie Harrison – Fool's Paradise
          • Bill Campbell – For The Love Of You
          • Risco Connection – It's My House
          • Dave Barker – Glow Of Love
          • Derrick Harriott – Caught You In A Lie
          • Hortense Ellis – Young Hearts Run Free
          • Ed Watson and Brass Circle – Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
          • Devon Russell – We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
          • Seventh Extension – Reasons
          • Derrick Harriott – Brown Baby
          • Ed Watson and Brass Circle – Let's Groove
          • Pete Campbell & The Sunshine Girls – Don't Let Love Get You Down
          • Webby Jay – In The Rain
          • Glen Adams Affair – Just A Groove
          • Indies Only Exclusive Limited Edition New 2×LP (Sunshine Yellow Coloured Vinyl) + Download Code SJRLP516C£28.00
            In stockAdd to Bag
          • 2xLP (+ Download Code) SJRLP516£26.00
            In stockAdd to Bag
          • 2×CD SJRCD516£12.99
            In stockAdd to Bag
          • MP3 Release SJRD516£9.99
            In stockAdd to Bag