Don Cherry & Latif Khan Don Cherry & Latif Khan (1982)

    Heavenly Sweetness
    • Don Cherry & Latif Khan – Air Mail
    • Don Cherry & Latif Khan – Sangam
    • 1. Untitled/Inspiration from Home
    • 2. Air Mail
    • 3. One Dance
    • 4. Rhythm 58 1/4
    • 5. Sangam

    Awesome trippy slow pulsing space jazz with electronics, spacey vocals, and Indian percussion!

    This is a great reisue of a little known Don Cherry album that was recorded in collaboration with Indian master percussionist Latif Khan. Recorded in 1978 and released in the early eighties on a small European label, this is the nearest thing to a follow-up to Don Cherry's essential Brown Rice album. Like that album, it fuses cosmic electronics, hypnotic percussion, and spacey vocals to create a kind of forward-looking worldbeat jazz that sounds fresher than ever!

    Very highly recommended!

    Other Releases on Heavenly Sweetness

    Blundetto / Ken BootheHave A Little FaithHeavenly Sweetness
    The first single from Blundetto’s forthcoming album sees the French producer collaborate with a true great of Jamaican music, the legendary reggae vocalist...
    • – Have A Little Faith
    • – Have A Little Faith (Version)
    We Are Ten! The Birthday PresentsHeavenly Sweetness
    Heavenly Sweetness celebrate 10 years in the game with this excellent collection featuring 10 new and exclusive tracks recorded by the labels artists to...
    • Cotonete – O Circo
    • Blundetto – Have a little faith
    • Roger Raspail – An Ba Galba
    • Guts – Move in Silence
    • Edmony Krater – Tijan Ka (2017 version)
    • The Mule – You Party Too Much
    • The Rongetz Foundation – Hip Hop Muse (Lefto Remix)
    • Anthony Joseph – Be The River
    • Florian Pellissier Quintet – Fuck With The Police
    • Edmony Krater – Tijan (Hugo LX Remix)
    CotoneteEarth Overshoot Day (inc. Patrice Scott remix)Heavenly Sweetness
    Third part in the series from new project Cotonete, made up of members of Ethio Jazz group Akalé Wubé and keyboardist Florian Pellissier. Wicked 70's...
    • – Earth Overshoot Day - Original mix
    • – Earth Overshoot Day - Hugo LX remix
    • – Earth Overshoot Day - Vox Low remix
    • – Earth Overshoot Day - Patrice Scott remix
    Tagi & Steve BeatbergYOUARESURROUNDEDHeavenly Sweetness
    Sly Johnson's beatmaker project, back to his hip hop roots!!!Guided by Hip Hop since the 90's until today, worked in great detail, YOUARESURROUNDED highlights...
    • – Youaresurrounded (The Intro)
    • – This Is Life (Featuring Rapper Big Pooh & Sly Johnson)
    • – Boom Bap Love (Featuring Lisa Spada)
    • – Leiho (Featuring Pumpkin & Sly Johnson)
    • – N.T. (Featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow)
    • – Lost Art (Featuring Finale & Sly Johnson)
    • – Danceonitifucan
    • – Ame Son (Featuring Tiemoko)
    • – F___ it (Featuring Sly Johnson & Saga)
    • – Raponitifucan
    • – Retrograde (Steven Beatberg's Raw Mixxx With Sly Johnson)
    • – Run To The Sun (Featuring Elodie Rama) D.B.B.S.M. REMIX
    • – La Dune Noire (With Dilouya)
    • 1. – Youaresurrounded (The Intro)
    • 2. – This Is Life (Featuring Rapper Big Pooh & Sly Johnson)
    • 3. – Boom Bap Love (Featuring Lisa Spada)
    • View full info and tracklisting

    People also bought

    Freedom Jazz France Freedom Jazz France Heavenly Sweetness
    Awesome release of absolute Jazz GOLD! Everyone a winner - a lot of these tracks would have turned Dingwalls, London, upside down back in the day! TIP! A...
    • Stella Levitt – Not so high
    • Octet de Dreux – Doorstep
    • Eddie Louiss – Colchiques
    • VS Quartet – A pou Zot
    • François Tusques – le Musichien
    • Noah Howard – Creole lady
    24 Carat BlackGone: the Promises of YesterdayNumero Group
    This is the never-before-released follow-up to the cult classic Ghetto: Misfortune's Wealth album released by 24 Carat Black in 1973! Rediscovered in...
    • – The Best of Good Love Gone
    • – I'll Never Let You Go
    • – Gone: the Promises of Yesterday
    Steve Reid Ensemble feat. Kieran Hebden - Spirit Walk (Special Limited Edition black vinyl RSD 2021)Spirit WalkSoul Jazz Records
    "Steve Reid played with Sun Ra, knew Coltrane, played at Motown. I mean this is a guy who at 19 was playing drums with Fela Kuti in Africa. He is a musical...
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Lugano
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Bridget
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – For Coltrane
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Blind Tom
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Which One?
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Lions Of Juda
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – It Cannot Be True
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Unity
    • Steve Reid Ensemble – Drum Story
    Harlem River DriveHarlem River Drive (1970)EMI
    All-time classic latin/funk album from the cross-over supergroup led by Eddie Palmieri! Essential tracks include "Idle Hands", "Seeds Of Life" and the...
      Erkin KorayElektronik TurkulerWorld Psychedelia
      You probably won't find a Turkish psych record that's better than this! A real killer from start to finish, this was originally released in 1974, and...
      • – Turku
      PhoreyezFound In TranslationMochilla
      Wicked new mix CD from Phoreyez on Mochilla! US label Mochilla which has brought us the latest brilliant album from Carlos Nino 'Suite For Ma Dukes'...
      • – SAMPLE ONE
      • – SAMPLE TWO
      • – SAMPLE THREE
      • – SAMPLE FOUR
      Black DynamiteMusic Track From The Picture Black DynamiteWaxpoetics
      BACK IN STOCK Ace funky soundtrack from the 1970's on Waxpoetics! Jam packed with funky drum breaks, frenzied hi-hats, wah wah guitar, killer groovy...
      • – Helicop
      • – Drama Backcloth 3
      • – Scenechange 3A
      • – Action In Memphis
      9DW (Nine Days Wonder)9DWWaxpoetics
      Spacey electronic jazz-fusion from the Land of the Rising Sun! Synthesizer heavy on every track, this album retains a highly organic feel, jammy at times...
      • – Stone And Fruits
      • – Posse
      • – Black Coffee
      George DukeA Brazilian Love Affair (1980)Epic
      Stone-cold classic Brazilian/ Jazz fusion masterpiece! Features a host of Brazilian superstars - Milton Nascimento, Airto, Flora Purim, Toninho Horta,...
      • – Cravo E Canela
      • CD 4712832£7.99
      • Original LP£12.00
        Vinyl condition: VGSleeve condition: VG100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're not happy we're not happy' money-back guarantee!
      Ghana Highlife Music Florent Mazzoleni Castor Astral
      Wonderfully comprehensive book on modern music from Ghana. Written by Kwesi Owusu & Florent Mazzoleni. The book tells the story of the early Ghana...
        7x7 BeatAll City Records Various ArtistsAll City
        Back in stock! All City have compiled this heavy ccollection of their much in demand 45's from the 7X7 series... All City has only been running for...
        • snowman – street corner music
        • mike slott – knock knock
        Dub SpecialistBionic DubStudio One
        Legendary Studio One dub album now reissued
          Beau WanzerBeau Wanzer L.I.E.S
          Chicago's Beau Wanzer known for his work with Mutant Beat Dance and Streetwalker makes his L.I.E.S. debut with this, his first solo EP. Stripped back,...
          • – Outside Auto
          • – Two Orders
          • – Balls of Steel