Chief Checker The Sound Of Chief Checker Sounded Original

    Superfly Records
    • Chief Checker – Ire Africa
    • Chief Checker – Impossibilities
    • Chief Checker – Solomon OBA
    • Chief Checker – Mangos Juice
    • Chief Checker – Original
    • Chief Checker – Possibility
    • 1. Ire Africa
    • 2. Impossibilities
    • 3. Solomon OBA
    • 4. Mangos Juice
    • 5. Original
    • 6. Possibility

    ** Limited Edition - 1000 copies only  **

    Nigerian Reggae holy grail reissued for the first time here courtesy of Superfly Records. This LP was originally recorded in London with members of the Cool Notes in 1983. Across six massive cuts, Chief Checker created a totally unique sound mixing Dub with elements of Juju. The result lands somewhere between Cedric Brooks and Sunny Ade. Highy recommended!

    People also bought

    Don DrummondDon D SpecialDub Store
    The miraculous take of 'Fidel' which never came out back then! This is one of the most killer yet wonderfully the tasteful masterpiece out of all the Don...
    • – Don D Special
    • – Fidel
    RicoRepatriation RemedyAggrovator
    Rico's awesome instrumental cut to errol dunkley's "repatrition" heavy heavy roots a must, produced by bunny lee mid 70s comes with heavy card sleeve....
    • Rico – Repatriation Remedy
    • The Aggrovators – Must Go Home Dub
    Crotocosm (Willie Burns & Jordan GCZ)Fanatic EPSecond Circle
    Fantastic textures and spacey melodies on "Music from Memory" sublabel Second Circle. Tip!
    • – Fanatic I
    • – Fanatic II
    • – Untitled
    Sugar MinottUptempo ShowcaseUptempo
    All time classic from Sugar Minott originally released in the early 80s on a Uptempo 10" vinyl. Sugar Minott on top form riding vintage Studio 1 rhythms...
    • – All Kinda People
    • – Dub
    • – Trying To Fool I
    • – Fight Against Dread
    Tribo Massahi Estrelando Embaixador Goma Gringa
    Heavily percussive afro-brazilian rarity from 1972! For those of you who loved Trunk's reissue of 'Tam!.!Tam!Tam!' will love this! gorgeous female chorus,...
    • – Walk By Jungle
    • – Fareuá
    Freddie McGregorSweet ChildMoney Disc
    Brand new 7" represses from Studio 1 with Freddie McGregor's earthy roots cover of Johnny Mathis.
    • – Sweet Child
    Alton Ellis Many Moods Of Alton EllisIroko
    Wicked roots album originally released in 1980, produced by Heptones singer Earl Morgan. Includes the killer tunes "Mr Skabina" "The Children Are Crying"...
    • – The Humble Will Stumble
    • – Mr. Scabina
    • – Pure Sorrow
    • – The Children Are Crying
    Horace AndyRock Me BabyMoney Disc
    Killer early 70s version of George McCrae's soul funk classic "Rock Me Baby" on Money Disc.
    • – Rock Me Baby
    Hopeton LewisTake It Easy With The Rock Steady BeatDub Store
    If you only buy one rocksteady album..look no further! A true classic, every track a killer - take it easy, a de pon dem, cool collie, music got soul,...
    • – Take It Easy
    • – Sounds And Pressure
    • – A De Pon Dem
    • – Cool Collie
    Don DrummondRain Or Shine Dub Store
    Recorded at the height of their phenomenal carrier as the number one Ska band, these are never-released alternative takes of the ultimate instrumental...
      Soul BrothersFreedom SoundsDub Store
      BACK IN STOCK...UNRELEASED VERSION!!! Rocksteady version by the Soul Brothers of the Ska classic "Freedom Sounds" orignally done by The Skatalites. This...
      • – Freedom Sounds
      • – Freedom Sounds Take 2
      Wallwork And RZR Don't PanicNervous Horizon
      HEAVY skeletal breakbeat business - the debut record from Italian/English duo Wallwork and RZR.  After encouragement from Scratcha DVA these four...
      • – don't panic
      • – parrot honey
      • – perc 22
      • – don't panic (deft remix)
      LAPSLAPS EP Clan Destine
      This is WICKED! Glaswegian duo LAPS (Ladies as Pimps) are best known as Golden Teacher vocalist Lady Two Collars and Sue Zuki from Organs Of Love. Sounding...
      • – Dirty Guys Dirty Corners
      • – All The Kids
      • – Dirty Heavenly Dub
      • – Undermine
      • – Klymaxx
      • – Yolk
      Marilyn Barbarin and The Soul FindersRebornSoul Jazz Records
      Surely one of the TUFFEST New Orleans Funk tunes ever made! The intensity of Marilyn Barbarin’s vocals are only matched by the super-tightness of Eddie...
      • – Reborn
      • – Believe Me
      Marc MoulinPlacebo Years 1971-1974Music On Vinyl
      Culled from the three albums that made 'Placebo' a much sought after name in Soul and Jazz music history
        • New LP (180g) MOVLP1225£21.99
          Out of stock Notify me
        The ParagonsWear You To The BallDuke Reid/Buyreggae
        All time rocksteady classic from John Holt & The Paragons with Earl Lindo's organ instrumental cut the flip.
        • The Paragons – Wear You To The Ball
        • Earl Lindo – The Ball
        Sounds Of The Universe Tote BagsSounds Of The Universe / Soul Jazz Records
        You'll never need a plastic bag again or any bag for that matter!!!  So many of our lovely customers wanted to have a more permanent Sounds Of The...
          Kamuran AkkorKamuran AkkorPharaway Sounds
          Whether she's covering European hits that have Turkish lyrics retrofitted, or ghost voicing a musical scene in a high-profile movie, Akkor often sings...
            Hopeton Lewis & U RoyTom DrunkDuke Reid
            Wicked duet from Hopeton Lewis & U Roy with the more obscure horns cut on the flip.
            • Hopeton Lewis & U Roy – Tom Drunk
            • Herman Marquis – Tom's Version
            Starvue / Reuben WilsonBody Fusion / Got To Get Your OwnBrooklyn Highs
            ** Limited Edition - 500 copies ** ** Splatter coloured vinyl ** Two sides - Two classics! Starvue's 'Body Fusion' gets a welcome reissue that will...
            • Starvue – Body Fusion
            • Reuben Wilson – Got To Get Your Own
            Tenderlonious Thoughts Of You EP 22a
            Driving soulful tropical house shenanigans from Tenderlonious!  22a, headed by Tenderlonious has earnt props from the likes  K15, Osunlade,...
            • – something special
            • – little d
            • – thoughts of you...
            • – wow wee (not seen u b4)
            Justin Hinds And The DominoesCarry Go Bring ComeDuke Reid/Buyreggae
            Rocksteady classic from Justin Hinds and the later Dj cut from King Sporty on the flip. Part 3 series from Duke Reid's Treasure Isle label.
            • Justin Hinds And The Dominoes – Carry Go Bring Come
            • King Sporty – For Our Desire
            Jeen Bassa All My People 22a
            **Jeen Bassa's 2015 Debut LP for 22a get's a timely repress. Limited to 300 copies, this will fly!** One of the three outrageously talented Deenmamode...
            • – Audio Visual
            • – Herb & Rhythm
            • – Poets House
            • – My People (7 seas)
            • – Body Talking
            • – The Landscapes
            • – Do The Do
            • – Latin Fingers
            • – Ode To The Funk
            • – Outro