This is a Record Store Day exclusive title and is not available to pre-order.

    You can buy in-store from Sounds of the Universe from 9am, 20 Apr 2024.

    You can buy online here from 8pm 22 Apr 2024.

    Press 'Notify Me' button and you will get an email the second the title becomes available online.

    KRS-One and his original band Boogie down Productions are amongst a small collective of genre-making, scene building pioneers of this thing we call Hip Hop, and Poetry and 9mm are amongst 2 of their early works of wonder. The 1987 jam "Poetry" famously became the beat basis and was sampled (twice!) in MF Doom's “Doomsday”, of which original copies change hands for £200+. It’s flipped by the earlier monster “My 9mm Goes Bang”, which along with tracks by Schooly D and Ice T, can be seen as an early foray into gangster rap, albeit it, from that NYC angle. Original mixes are remastered for 2024, all housed the legendary B-Boy labels and sleeves.

    Other Releases by Boogie Down Productions

    Boogie Down ProductionsEdutainmentGet On Down
    The fourth studio album by the legendary Boogie Down Productions. Originally released in 1990 this album features production from D-Nice as well as KRS-One...
      • New 2×LP (Coloured Vinyl)£39.99
        In stockAdd to Bag
      Boogie Down ProductionsThe Best Of The B-boy SessionsTraffic
      BDP was one of the most important and influential Hip-Hop groups of the latter half of 80's. Led by the often brilliant and incendiary MC KRS-One, BDP...
      • – South Bronx (extended Edit)
      • – My Summer Kicks - Duke Of Earl

      People also bought

      Johnnie Mae MatthewsI Have No Choice / That's When It HurtsBig Hit
      Johnnie Mae Matthews is fondly referred to as being “The Godmother Of Detroit Soul” as she was responsible for creating at least 8 different Detroit...
      • – I Have No Choice
      • – That's When It Hurts
      Josh WinkHigher State Of Conciousness RemixesStrictly Rhythm
      This is a Record Store Day exclusive title and is not available to pre-order. You can buy in-store from Sounds of the Universe from 9am, 20 Apr 2024. You...
        300% Dynamite!Ska, Soul, Rocksteady, Funk and Dub in Jamaica ( RSD 2024 Edition)Soul Jazz Records
        Special new 25th anniversary edition of this most popular and highly-acclaimed of all Soul Jazz Records' Dynamite! series - 300% Dynamite is jam-packed...
        • Wayne Smith – Under Mi Sleng Teng
        • Big Youth – Cool Breeze
        • Sister Nancy – Bam Bam
        • The Freddie Munnings Orchestra – Coconut Woman
        • Bobby Ellis – Step Softly
        • Althea and Donna – Uptown Top Ranking
        • Jah Lloyd – Llama
        • Culture – Stop The Fussing and Fighting
        • Lee Perry and The Upsetters – Jungle Lion
        • Johnny and The Attractions – Let's Get Together
        • Augustus Pablo – Viva Tirado
        • Archie and Lyn – Rat In The Centre
        • Jackie Paris – Make Me Smile
        • Bobby Ellis – Shank I Sheck
        • Winston Wright and The Upsetters – Jam #1
        • The Ethiopians – The Whip
        • Chaka Demus & Pliers – The Boom
        • Glen Adams – Can't Hide Love
        • Johnny Clarke – Rebel Soldering
        • Dee Sharp – Let's Dub It Up
        • 2xLP (Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl) + Download Code SJRLP543C£34.00
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Steppas' Delight 1Dubstep Present To FutureSoul Jazz Records
        Steppas’ Delight tells the story of Dubstep – from its South London roots up to its present status as the most vibrant musical sub-culture...
        • Kode 9 – 9 Samurai
        • Benga – Evolution
        • Search And Destroy – Candy Floss (Loefah Remix)
        • Plastician Feat Skepta – Intensive Snare
        • Uncle Sam – Around The World Girls (Tes La Rok Mix)
        • The Bug And Warrior Queen – Poison Dart
        • Goth Trad – Genesis
        • Seventeen Evergreen – Ensonique (Bi-Polar Man Mix)
        • Martyn – Broken
        • Shackleton – Blood On My Hands
        • TRG – Broken Heart
        • Joker – Gullybrook Lane (Instrumental)
        • Quest – Hardfood
        • Ikonika – Please
        • Silkie – Dam 4
        • Geiom Feat Marita – Reminissin'
        • Shonx – Canton
        • Gatekeeper Feat Grizla – Shade Darker
        • Peverelist – Roll With The Punches
        Amon TobinPermutation (25 Year Anniversary)Ninja Tune
        Amon Tobin’s critically acclaimed 3rd album, the modern classic Permutation celebrates its 25th anniversary with this special edition, featuring a revamped...
          Krome & TimeAnthologySuburban Base Records
          This Anthology box set features exclusive VIP remixes and unreleased versions of classic (This Sound Is For The Underground and Ganja Man) and sought-after...
          • – Kromozone - The Rush (Dub Bass Mix)
          • – Timebase - Fireball (VIP)
          • – Krome & Time - Into The Night
          • – Krome & Time - Virtual Reality VIP
          • – Krome & Time - This Sound Is For The Underground VIP
          • – Krome & Time - This Sound Is For The Underground (E.5 Remix)
          • – Krome & Time - Manic Stamped
          • – Krome & Time - Manic Stampede (DJ Hype's Sandringham Road Mix)
          • – Krome & Time - The Slammer V.I.P.
          • – Higher Level - Everybody Can Be - Mr Time Remix 2022
          J.V.C. F.O.R.C.E.Strong IslandB-Boy Records / Empire Slate
          The term "classic" is often tossed around casually, particularly when reminiscing about the golden era of Hip Hop and its iconic tracks. However, in this...