Tempa Allstars Volume 6 - Skream / Benga / Sbtrkt / Falty DL

  • 1. Skream – Rollin' Kicks
  • 2. Icicle – Anything
  • 3. FaltyDL – Sunday
  • 4. Benga – I Come From London
  • 5. SBTRKT – Sleep In Tokyo
  • 6. Alix Perez – Metric

This is the highly anticipaed sixth installment from the legendary Tempa Allstars series!!!

Skream opens Allstars 6 with 'Rollin Kicks' and it does exactly what it says on the tin. For those who have not kept one eye on the brilliant and diverse output DnB producers such as dBridge and indeed Shogun Audio have been putting out there, this may be your first introduction to Icicle. With 'Anything' wicked production value gives weight to his bass notes and shine to the shuffling metallic percussion. Icicle is joined by fellow samurai from the Shogun camp, Alix Perez, who sends a an elastic bassline searching through a corridor of muffled voices, distorted synth lines and seemingly echoing chasms, bringing Allstars 6 to a close with 'Untitled'.

Falty DL comes with a short and sweet, sunshine offering in the form of 'Sunday' a lush riddim perfect for the British BBQ and at under 3 minutes the sun may still be shining before its time to replace the plates with Benga's 'I Come From London'; swung with the indomitable swagger that oozes from the S. Londoner, cricket like whistles adding high energy frenzy to the rolling bass and percussion jamboree. Remixer du jour, SBTRKT is having a strong 2010 so far with his music finding its way into the boxes of some of electronic musics most discerning DJs and he doesn't falter on 'Sleep In Tokyo', an early hours backdrop for cities which never sleep.