Mongo Santamaria Mongo Introduces La Lupe (1963)

  • CD 9786306818105£16.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Besito Pa Ti
  • 2. Kiniqua
  • 3. Canta Bajo
  • 4. Uncle Calypso
  • 5. Montuneando
  • 6. Que Lindas Son
  • 7. Oye Este Guaguanco
  • 8. Este Mambo (This Is My Mambo)
  • 9. Quiet Stroll

With this album latin percussionist Mongo Santamaria chose to launch fellow ex-pat Cuban emigré vocalist La Lupe's career in the US, originally released on Riverside Records, produced by the great Orrin Keepnews.

Mongo has his own super-tight group featuring Choclate Armenteras and Marty Sheller on trumpets, Pat Patrick (from Sun Ra Arkestra) on sax, Kako on percussion and more backing the powerful vocals of La Lupe.