Lee Morgan Lee-Way (1960)

Blue Note
  • Reissue LP (180g) LP84034£20.99
    Out of stock
  • CD 540 0312£7.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. these are soulful days
  • 2. the lion and the wolff
  • 3. midtown blues
  • 4. nakatini suite

This 1960 BLUE NOTE recording features trumpeter Lee Morgan's quintet with altoist Jackie McLean, pianist Bobby Timmons, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Art Blakey.
Everyone's in fine form on 4 long tracks, 2 written by the underrated trumpeter/composer Cal Massey, a Jackie McLean original 'Midtown Blues' and Lee's arresting blues 'The Lion and the Wolff' dedicated to the founders of BLUE NOTE, Alfred Lion & Francis Wolff.
This Rudy Van Gelder Edition of 'Lee-Way' deserves to be better known and should appeal to anyone who enjoys soulful hard bop.