• New LP (180g) LPRW129£19.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. You Dig It
  • 2. Alone Together
  • 3. But Beautiful
  • 4. Invitation
  • 5. Autumn Leaves
  • 6. Pape Satan Aleppe
  • 7. Free Wheel
  • 8. Dia Blue
  • 9. Miriam Doll (trio)
  • 10. A Ball For Othello
  • 11. la Campimania

At last, a long hidden treasure sees the light of day. All these tracks, recorded in May 1961 as part of the Golden Eight recording sessions, are now released for the first time. The multi-national Golden Eight ensemble assembled by Gigi Campi featured Kenny Clarke and Jimmy Woode (USA), Francy Boland and Chris Kellens (Belgium), Dusko Gojkovic (Yugoslavia), Raymond Droz (Switzerland), Derek Humble (UK) and Karl Drevo (Austria). It was the forerunner of the legendary Clarke-Boland Big Band. Seven of the eleven pieces in the album are distinctive originals by Boland, the remaining four tracks being devoted to classic standards.