Horace Silver Doin' The Thing - At The Village Gate (1961)

Blue Note
  • CD 094636268224£6.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Filthy McNasty
  • 2. doin the thing
  • 3. kiss me right
  • 4. the gringo / cool eyes (theme)
  • 5. CD Bonus track – it ain't s'posed to be like that
  • 6. CD Bonus track – cool eyes (full version)

Horace Silver has had many bands during his career, but none rivalled the Blue Mitchell-Junior Cook edition of the quintet (1958–64). This live date (Silver’s only official live album) was recorded at the Village Gate in New York City in May 1961, and finds the group in peak form, tearing through one great Silver original after another. "Filthy McNasty" was the hit of the album but every selection, including two bonus tracks not on the original album, is absolutely first-rate and swinging.