Erykah Badu New Amerykah Part Two - Return of The Ankh

Universal Motown
  • CD 2732676£7.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP 1-MOT2676£14.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. 20 Feet Tall
  • 2. Window Seat
  • 3. Agitation
  • 4. Turn Me Away (Get MuNNY)
  • 5. Gone Baby, Don't Be Long
  • 6. Umm Hmm
  • 7. Love
  • 8. You Loving Me (Session)
  • 9. Fall In Love (Your Funeral)
  • 10. Incense
  • 11. Out My Mind, Just In Time

Psychedelic-soul from the incredibly talented Erykah Badu!!!

Part 2 of New Amerykajh, Badu comes witha return of the Ankh, which is apparently 'The Funk Without The F'.  The vibe on this throws back to her classics 'Mama's Gun' and 'Baduizm'.  This album fills all the gaps for the traditional badu fan.  As always her boogie, funk, soul and hip hop influences are incorporated across the whole album. 'Turn Me Away (Get Nunny)' samples the rare groove classic from Sylvia Strplin and flips it, whilst giving us a reflect on Junr Mafia's classc 'Get Money'.  There's a few cheeky samples and rifts taken from Herbie Hancock and Eddie Kendricks and more. Features production by Shafiq Husayn, James Poyser, Madlib and J Dilla! Killer! Essential!