Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers First Flight To Tokyo: The Lost 1961 Recordings

    Blue Note
      • 1. Now's The Time
      • 2. Moanin'
      • 3. Blues March
      • 4. The Theme
      • 5. Dat Dere
      • 6. 'Round About Midnight
      • 7. Now's The Time (Version 2)
      • 8. A Night In Tunesia
      • 9. The Theme (Version 2)

      'First Flight to Tokyo: The Lost 1961 Recordings' is a thrilling previously unreleased live recording of Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers captured at Hibiya Public Hall in Tokyo on January 14, 1961 during the band’s first-ever tour of Japan. The Jazz Messengers were among the first modern jazz groups to tour the country, and adoring Japanese audiences were enthralled by one of the band’s all-time great line-ups featuring the legendary drummer with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Bobby Timmons on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. The concert featured soaring performances of well-known jazz staples including Charlie Parker’s “Now’s the Time,” Thelonious Monk’s “’Round About Midnight,” and Jazz Messenger hits including “Blues March,” “Dat Dere,” and “Moanin’.”

      People also bought

      Michael KiwanukaKIWANUKAPolydor
      UK soul sensation, Micheal Kiwanuka returns with his third studio album, 'KIWANUKA'. Similarly to his 'Love & Hate' album of 2016 this album has been blessed...
      • – You Ain’t The Problem
      • New 2×LP £32.00
        Out of stock
      • CD£9.99
        Limited deluxe hardcover book version
        Out of stock
      Gary CrissRio De Janeiro (1978)Salsoul Records
      Salsoul Records 1978 Original = Original USA Vinyl VG+ /Sleeve VG 100% Guarantee on this and all Original Vinyl at Sounds Of The Universe - 'if you're...
        • Original LP£12.00
          Vinyl condition: VG+Sleeve condition: VG
          Out of stock