Art Blakey At The Cafe Bohemia Volume 2 (1955)

Blue Note
  • CD 5321492£7.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Announcement By Art Blakey
  • 2. Sportin' Crowd
  • 3. Like Someone In Love
  • 4. Yesterdays
  • 5. Avila & Tequila
  • 6. I Waited For You
  • 7. Just One Of Those Things
  • 8. Hank's Symphony
  • 9. Gone With The Wind

The genesis of what we now know as "the Blue Note Sound." While earlier albums, including Art's "A Night at Birdland" and "Horace Silver and the Jazz Messengers" hinted at great things to come, these recordings just bring it all together for me. The hard bop is at a fever pitch, the songwriting is beginning to take on new, original and more creative direction, and the lineup is a killer -- Kenny Dorham, Hank Mobley and Doug Watkins join Blakey and Silver.