Who Say Reload The Stories Behind the Classic Drum & Bass Records of the 90s

    Velocity Press

    Who Say Reload is an oral history of the records that defined jungle/drum n bass straight from the original sources. The likes of Goldie, DJ Hype, Roni Size, Andy C, 4 Hero and many more talk about the influences, environment, equipment, samples, beats and surprises that went into making each classic record. Photography is provided by Eddie Otchere who has an extensive archive of images, having been the photographer at Goldie's seminal Metalheadz nights. His previously unseen visuals capture the essence of the music in a way that only someone who was fully immersed in the culture at the time could, and are the perfect accompaniment to the story being told.

    Other Releases on Velocity Press

    Dreaming in YellowThe Story of the DiY Sound SystemVelocity Press
    Written by Harry Harrison, one of DiY’s founding members, this book traces their origins back to early formative experiences, describing in detail the...
      Trip Cityby Trevor MillerVelocity Press
      In the summer of 1989, when Trip City was first released with a soundtrack by A Guy Called Gerald, there had been no other British novel like it. This...
        Daft Punk’s DiscoveryThe Future UnfurledVelocity Press
        Daft Punk’s Discovery is a homage to a fascinating, troubled beast of an album that casts a huge shadow over the 21st Century. It’s a global view of...
          Knowledge Magazine25 Year AnniversaryVelocity Press
          Knowledge Magazine returns with a special one-off book celebrating their 25th anniversary. There have been some special issues in the past but this is...
            Long RelationshipsMy Incredible Journey From Unknown DJ to Small-time DJVelocity Press
            Written by former DJ/producer Harold Heath, Long Relationships: My Incredible Journey From Unknown DJ to Small-time DJ is a biographical account of a DJ...
              The Secret DJBook TwoVelocity Press
              Through four decades of dance music and club culture, how capitalism bought and sold the utopian dreams of the Acid House generation. Essential reading...
                Synthesizer Evolution: From Analogue to Digital (and Back)by Oli FrekeVelocity Press
                Synthesizer Evolution: From Analogue to Digital (and Back) celebrates their impact on music and culture by providing a comprehensive and meticulously researched...

                  People also bought

                  The WinstonsAmen Brother / Color Him FatherSoul Jazz Records
                  BACK IN STOCK - EXCLUSIVE - ONLY AVAILABLE HERE! ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- WORLD...
                  • The Winstons – Amen Brother
                  • The Winstons – Color Him Father
                  Soul Jazz Records 'Classic' NAVY BLUET-ShirtSoul Jazz Records
                  NEW COLOUR! It's a classic! "Soul Jazz Records" T-shirt - White on Navy Blue!
                    Rumble in the JungleSoul Jazz Records
                     Soul Jazz Records latest journey features all-time classic jungle anthems such as General Levy’s ‘Incredible’ and UK Apachi and Shy FX’s...
                    • Asher Senator – One Bible
                    • Ninjaman, Bounty Killer, Beenie Man and Ninja Ford – Bad Boy Lick A New Shot
                    • M Beat With General Levy – Incredible
                    • Barrington Levy & Beenie Man – Under Mi Sensi (X Project Remix)
                    • Ragga Twins – Ragga Trip
                    • Poison Chang – Press The Trigger
                    • Shut Up And Dance – No Doubt
                    • UK Apachi & Shy FX – Original Nuttah
                    • Ragga Twins – Illegal Gunshot
                    • Ben Intellect With Ragga G – Oh Jungle
                    • Cutty Ranks – Limb By Limb
                    • Ragga Twins – Tan So Back
                    • 1. Asher Senator – One Bible
                    • 2. Ninjaman, Bounty Killer, Beenie Man and Ninja Ford – Bad Boy Lick A New Shot
                    • 3. M Beat With General Levy – Incredible
                    • View full info and tracklisting
                    The Record Players: DJ RevolutionariesBy Bill Brewster and Frank BroughtonVirgin Books
                    OVER 60% OFF RETAIL PRICE - ESSENTIAL BOOK!From the writers of 'Last Night A DJ Saved My Life', Bill Brewster & Frank Broughton have come up trumps again...
                      • Book (1.1kg)£16.95 £8.00
                        Out of stock