Simple Minds The Balearic Sound Of

    • 12" SKD006 £7.99
      Out of stock
    • Simple Minds – This Fear Of Gods
    • Simple Minds – Theme For Great Cities
    • Simple Minds – I Travel (Extended 12” Mix)
    • Simple Minds – This Earth That You Walk Upon (12” Instrumental version)
    • 1. This Fear Of Gods
    • 2. Theme For Great Cities
    • 3. I Travel (Extended 12” Mix)
    • 4. This Earth That You Walk Upon (12” Instrumental version)

    Balearic highlights from Scottish 1980s powerhouse band Simple Minds. Recorded early in their career, these four sublime tracks illustrate just how mind-blowingly good and experimental Simple Minds were before they hooked up with U2’s producer and headed down the stadium rock route. The first cut ‘This Fear of Gods’, plucked from the Leckie-produced 1980 LP ‘Empires and Dance’, is a hard-edged slice of electronica which sounds way ahead of its time rolling through an eerie soundscape of angry chants, hypnotic synths and thunderous pounding drums. Next up is the equally impressive ‘Theme For Great Cities’. Produced by Steve Hillage, this lush instrumental epic had major rotation and became a big anthem in Ibiza. Flip over for another Balearic classic - the extended 12” version of the superbly futuristic Moroder-esque  ‘I Travel’ and last but not least, the in-demand 12’ instrumental version of ‘This Earth That You Walk Upon’ - another Hillage-produced tripped-out masterpiece.

    People also bought

    Sun Ra The Lost Arkestra Series Part 2Rush Hour
    Three tracks taken from Sun Ra's "Cosmo Earth Fantasy" album.  The A-side features an amazing track filled with African rhythmns and percussion...
    • Sun Ra – The World Of Africa
    • Sun Ra – Love Is Always
    • Sun Ra – Space Is The Place
    • 10"£6.99
      Out of stock
    The Sound of Philadelphia Tony Cummings (1975)Eyre Muthuen Ltd.
    Killer book on the sound of Philadelphia in the 1970s.
    • Original Book (900g)£30.00
      Original out of print second-hand book in great condition
      In stockAdd to Bag
    Overdose Of The Holy Ghost Compiled By David Hill Zedd Records
    Something to warm your spirit from Ze Records - David Hill returns with another brilliant compilation of soul gospel!  60's, 70's and 80's, sweet-soul...
    • The Clark Sisters – Overdose Of The Holy Ghost
    • Shirley Caesar – Heavenly Father
    • Dan Greer – Love Is The Message (Joey Negro Edit)
    • Kristle – I'll Go
    • The Young Delegation – I'll Keep Holdin On
    • Elbernita 'Twinkie' Clark – Awake O Zion
    • 2×LP£19.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×CD£13.99
      Out of stock