• LP£16.99
      Out of stock
    • Cornell Campbell – Talk About My Baby
    • Cornell Campbell – Rope In
    • Cornell Campbell – Mash You Down
    • Cornell Campbell – Bandolo
    • 1. Just My Imagination
    • 2. Talk About My Baby
    • 3. Soul And Inspiration
    • 4. Young Love
    • 5. Rope In
    • 6. Mash You Down
    • 7. Free Up The Sensimillia
    • 8. Broken Hearted Girl
    • 9. A Solid Foundation
    • 10. Aware Of Love
    • 11. Bandolo

    Radiation Roots present a reissue of Cornell Campbell's Ropin', originally released in 1980. One of the sweetest and most idiosyncratic voices in reggae, tenor singer Cornell Campbell, also has one of the longest-running careers of any Jamaican recording artist. Taken under Studio One founder Clement "Sir Coxsone" Dodd's wing at a very young age, Cornell cut his first recordings in 1956, long before ska was even established. He remained based at Studio One for many years, working as a label printer as well as a recording artist, and also voiced sides for King Edwards in the ska years. He then briefly joined the Sensations in rock steady and recorded at Treasure Isle, before moving back to Studio One as leader of the Eternals when reggae arrived, cutting huge hits there such as "Stars" and "Queen Of The Mistrel", and giving early coaching to Slim Smith, Jacob Miller, and bassist Robbie Shakespeare. Joining forces with ace producer Bunny "Striker" Lee in the mid-1970s brought a dramatic new surge in popularity that greatly boosted his profile overseas. The Ropin' LP was issued on Third World's Justice subsidiary in 1980 -- a sub label set up to handle Striker's product in the UK (though hits like "Mash You Down" and the title track had been handled in Jamaica by Joe Gibbs). One of the album's outstanding moments is "Bandulu", an anti-rude boy epic voiced on the "Late Night Blues" rhythm, while opening cover, "Just My Imagination", has an uncredited toasting portion from Errol Scorcher.

    Other Releases by Cornell Campbell

    Cornell CampbellBanduloJustice
    Killer vocal cut from 1978 over late nght blues riddim originally done by Don Carlos, produced by Bunny Lee with super deep dub with the bassline of all...
    • – Bandulo
    • – Version

    Other Releases on Radiation Roots

    Junior KeatingWeekend LoverRadiation Roots
    Junior Keatting's Weekend Lover, originally released in 1980. During the late 1970s, deejay-turned-producer Jah Thomas played a key role in the emerging...
    • – Long Long Time
    • – Conquering Lion
    • – Jah Wrote Me A Letter
    • – Weekend Lover
    • – Watch What You Do
    • – Baby Please Be True
    • – Hang Up The Telephone
    • – Something Is Bugging Me
    • – Coming Of A Storm

    People also bought

    Super CatDon DadaColumbia
    Reissue of this classic dancehall / hip hop crossover album by the legendary Super Cat. Originally released in 1992.
    • – Them No Worry We
    • – Ghetto Red Hot
    • – Them No Care
    • – Don't Test
    • – Don Dada
    • – Big And Ready
    • LP + Download Code£21.99
      Out of stock
    ChronixxChronologySoul Circle Music
    Vinyl finally in stock!  Jamaican musician Chronixx has ignited a torch in people's hearts the world over and is confidently lighting the path...
    • – Spanish Town Rockin'
    • – Ghetto Paradise
    • – Smile Jamaica
    • – Selassie Children
    • – Majesty
    • LP£24.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£13.99
      Out of stock
    Studio One Soul 2Soul Jazz Records
    Studio One Soul 2 is the long awaited second volume of one of the largest selling Soul Jazz/Studio One titles, Studio One Soul. Studio One Soul 2 takes...
    • Jacob Miller – Westbound Train
    • Hortense Ellis – People Make The World Go Round
    • Horace Andy – Ain't No Sunshine
    • Soul Vendors – Swing Easy
    • The Heptones – Choice Of Colours
    • Jackie Mittoo & The Brentford Disco Set – Choice Of Music Part 2
    • Prinze Jazzbo – Fool For Love
    • Cornell Campbell – Ten To One
    • Winston Francis – Don't Change
    • Jackie Mittoo – Jumping Jehosophat
    • Tony Gregory – Get Out Of My Life Woman
    • Dub Specialist – Darker Block
    • Little Joe – Red Robe
    • Devon Russell – Make Me Beleive In You
    • Jerry Jones – Compared To What
    • Ken Boothe – Thinking
    • Anthony Creary – Land Call Africa
    • Jackie Mittoo – Fancy Pants
    • 2xLP (+ Download Code)£26.00
      Out of stock
    • CD£12.00
      Out of stock
    • MP3 Release£9.99
      In stockAdd to Bag
    Studio One FunkSoul Jazz Records
    Soul Jazz Records’ long out of print classic ‘Studio One Funk’ collection re-released in three new one-off limited-edition coloured pressing 18th...
    • Cedric Im Brooks – Shaft
    • Alton Ellis – African Descendents
    • Pablove Black – Poco Tempo
    • Lloyd Williams – Reggae Feet
    • Jackie MIttoo – Hang Em High
    • Cedric Im Brooks – Idleberg
    • Prince Francis – Beat Down Babylon
    • Lee Arab – Now
    • Soul Bros. – 007
    • Prince Moonie – See A Man's Face
    • Im And Sound Dimension – Love Jah
    • Leroy Sibbles – Do Your Thing
    • The Sharks – Music Answer
    • Underground Vegetables – Melting Pot
    • Devon Russell – You Found Heaven
    • Vin Gordon – Steady Beat
    • Alton Ellis – It's A Shame
    • Roy Richards – Another Thing
    • Delroy Wilson – Funky Broadway
    Freddie McKayThe Best Of Freddy McKayHit
    Misleading title as it's actually his 3rd album originally released in 1977 on Alvin Ranglin's GG record label. Killer Deep roots reggae featuring...
    • – It's Running Over
    • – Rome
    • – Praising The Father
    • – How Can I
    • – When The Right Time Come
    • – Blow Wind
    • – Sweet And Sour
    • – Some A Them Runa Away
    • LP£19.00
      Out of stock