• Rico Rodriguez – Destroy Them
    • Rico Rodriguez – We Want Peace
    • Rico Rodriguez – Jam Rock
    • Rico Rodriguez – Some Day
    • Rico Rodriguez – Distant Drums
    • Rico Rodriguez – Love And Justice
    • Rico Rodriguez – Java
    • Rico Rodriguez – Do The Reload
    • Rico Rodriguez – Easter Island
    • 1. Destroy Them
    • 2. We Want Peace
    • 3. Jam Rock
    • 4. Some Day
    • 5. Distant Drums
    • 6. Love And Justice
    • 7. Java
    • 8. Do The Reload
    • 9. Easter Island

    Legendary Jamaican trombonist Emmanuel "Rico" Rodriguez became a regular contributor to the Two Tone label, recording two albums for the Coventry-based imprint. Both are now 40 years old - hence this reissue of the second, Jama Rico. Unlike its predecessor, That Man's Forward, Jama Rico looks further afield for inspirations, with the trombonist's usual easy-going reggae and ska instrumentals being joined by a handful of tracks that draw inspiration from West African rhythms and spaced-out jazz-funk. As a result, it's arguably one of his most vibrant and interesting solo sets, while the inclusion of the Special AKA on final track 'Easter Island' highlights his link with the Specials (famously, Rodriguez performed on 'Message to You, Rudy').

    Check “Destroy Them, Distant Drums, Easter Island” heavyweights!

    People also bought

    Rico RodriguezThat Man Is ForwardTwo-Tone Records
    Legendary ska trombonist Emmanuel "Rico" Rodriguez became a regular contributor to the Two Tone label - recognition of his role in the rise of the Jamaican...
    • – Easy Snappin
    • – Fiesta
    • – Chang Kai Shek
    • – Stay Out Late
    • – Red Top
    • – EX (X) Paradise
    • – Ganja
    • – That Man Is Forward
    The Well Pack BandThe Workers Speak To Their Slave Masters With StrikeStudio 16
    Very rare instrumental roots album from 1980 produced by Winston Edwards and Blackbeard. Eight top horns led instrumental cuts with an uptempo roots feel.
    • – New Approach To Workers
    • – Bad Management
    • – Better Working Conditions For Workers
    • – Union And Management
    • – More Opportunity For Worker's Children
    King TubbyMajestic DubDemon Records
    1st time reissued on Vinyl!! Killer heavy heavy DUB LP Highly Recommended! King Tubby was the legendary producer and engineer who pioneered remixing and...
    • – Dub Them Under Manners
    • – Go In A It Dub Stylee
    • – This Is A Natural Dub Stylee
    • – Ragga Muffin Dub Stylee
    • – Bad Boys Dub Stylee
    • – The Best Dub In The Business
    • – Majestic Stylee
    El Rego Et Ses CommandosAkaba / Na Kou Na KouAfrican Songs Ltd
    THIS PRE-ORDER IS NOW CLOSED ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------VERY RARE ORIGINAL DEADSTOCK...
    • – Na Kou Na Kou
    Gianni Dell'Orso & Gianni OddiMondo di Notte OggiFour Flies Records
    Reissue of the two funkiest tunes from the soundtrack to Gianni Proia's 'Mondo di Notte Oggi', a 1976 mondo movie whose score was composed, arranged and...
    • – Soul Meeting
    • – Teenager
    Golden Boys / Silvio C SarSegura Na Cintura Dela (O Gavi O) / Beco Sem Sa daMr Bongo
    A monster Brazilian funk / samba rock double-sider from of the mighty Golden Boys and Silvio C Sar. Both tracks produced by the great Milton Miranda.
    • – Golden Boys - Segura Na Cintura Dela (O Gavi o)
    • – Silvio C Sar - Beco Sem Sa da
    RicoStranger On The ShoreUpsetter
    Rico's killer 1968 version of the standard "Stranger On The Shore" now on limited 7" vinyl before only available on his impossible to find Reco In Reggae...
    • Rico – Stranger On The Shore
    • Val Bennett – Stranger On The Shore
    A History of the Jamaican Recording IndustryBook One: The Birth of Ska 'From Mento to Studio One'
    Superb hardback 188-page book with loads of text, photos, artefacts, record labels etc written by Noel Hawks. With contributions and quotes from (wait...
      The UpsettersBuild The ArkTrojan Records / Music On Vinyl
      This astounding collection bring together some incredibly rare tracks and artists that cannot be found on any other Reggae albums. Then there is of course...
        The RevolutionariesChannel One Disco Purpose 2Archive Recordings
        Second slice of the Channel One Disco Purpose Rhythm Excursion. Back to back classics from the Hookim brothers Maxfield Avenue outpost.Pressed on opaque...
        • – No Weakheart Version
        • – Forward Version
        • – Hang On Version
        • – General Version
        Soul Jazz Records presents Studio One Ska Fire ! (Limited Edition Collectors 7" Box Set)Studio One Ska Fire ! (Limited Edition Collectors 7" Box Set)Soul Jazz Records
        Studio One Ska Fire Box Set, a limited-edition one-off pressing exclusive collectors seven-inch box set featuring 10 amazing and super-rare Studio One...
        • Don Drummond – Don D Special
        • Toots and The Maytals – A Man Who Knows
        • Bob Marley and The Wailers – Rude Boy
        • Derrick Morgan – It's Alright
        • The Skatalites – Something Special
        • Lee Perry – Open Up (aka Cook Book)
        • The Regals – Shammy Back
        • Bob Marley and The Wailers – Diamond Baby
        • Jackie Opel – The Mill Man
        • The Ethiopians – I Am Free
        • 5×7" Boxset SJR467£38.00
          In stockAdd to Bag
        • MP3 Release SJR467D£9.99
          In stockAdd to Bag
        Marcia GriffithsFeel Like Jumping / Part 2Soul Jazz Records
        IN STOCK NOW! BRAND NEW LTD. EDN. 12" All-time Studio One party ANTHEM now available for the first time ever on loud 12" with version on the flip. 100%...
        • Marcia Griffiths – Feel Like Jumping
        • Dub Specialist – Feel Like Jumping Part 2
        Swave Villi Us: Independent Soul 1971-84Backatcha
        **RIYL the classic 'Personal Space Electronic Soul 1974-1984' compilation!** Backatcha Records presents 'Swave Villi Us', a collection of sixteen sought...
        • – Stride & Willie Gay, Jr. - Come Inside
        • – Nassauvians - Slacking Off
        • – Aka Shaic - Swave Villi Us
        • – Ray T. Jones - Norfolk Sound
        • – Theatre West - Children Of Tomorrow's Dreams
        • – Ivan R. Sturdivant & Time Zone No. Seven - The World That Died
        • – Small Society - Just Loving You
        • – No I.D. (aka Bilal Sabir) - Changes
        • – Nature’s Choice - Never Get A Chance [Previously unreleased version]
        • – Antwans - You Got That Right
        • – Joe walker - We Need Each Other
        • – Spice - For Old Time's Sake
        • – Joe Brown and the Soul Elderados - Vibration Part Two
        • – Expressway - Blue Evening
        • – Smiles - Just A Star
        • – Watch Tower - Forever, Together [Previously unreleased version]
        Orchestre Poly-Rythmo De Cotonou DahomeyLe SatoAcid Jazz
        **Deep cult and roots music from Benin!** Recorded and issued in 1974, 'Le Sato' is one of the earliest releases on the Albarika label and it is also one...