• 2×CD RTA13£10.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate – Kala Djula
  • 2. KonKoma – Me-Kyin-Kyin
  • 3. Ebo Taylor – Nga Nga
  • 4. Staff Benda Bilili – Osali Mabe
  • 5. Francis Bebey – The Coffee Cola Song
  • 6. William Onyeabor – Good Name
  • 7. Tinariwen – Matadjem Yinmixan
  • 8. Dur-Dur Band – Dooyo
  • 9. Rikki Ililonga – Lovely Woman
  • 10. WITCH – That's What I Want
  • 11. Jimmi, Lekbir & Fatma Anonuya – Makh-Makh (Why, Why?)
  • 12. Hailu Mergia – Hari Meru Meru
  • 13. Mdou Moctar – Tahoultine
  • 14. Owiny Sigoma Band – Norbat Okelo
  • 15. Janka Nabay – Eh Congo
  • 16. Tshetsha Boys ft. Themba Manganyi – Bafana Bafana
  • 17. Amanaz – History Of Man
  • 18. Shackleton vs Kasai Allstars – Mukuba Allstars
  • 19. Mark Ernestus presents Jeri-Jeri (with Ale & Khadim Mboup) – Casamance
  • 20. Bolia We Ndenge – Bosamba Ndeke
  • 21. Masanka Sankayi – Le Labourer
  • 22. Konono No1 – Paradiso
  • 23. Zinja Hlungwani – N'wagezani My Love

Rough Trade Shops' new compilation is a staff selection from some of the incredible records that have passed through their shop in recent years. Records released on labels such Crammed Discs, Honest Jons, Awesome Tapes From Africa, Now Again, World Circuit and Soundway, to name a few.

The compilation spans modern music from the region with diverse styles and artists including; Konono No1 with their breathtaking polyrhythmic music, William Onyeabor with his synth infused grooves, Ali Farka Toure & Toumani Diabate with their tender, beautiful sounds plus cross-pollinated Western Dance and African music from the likes of Shackleton.

People also bought

CybotronEnter Decision
Long over-due reissue of this seminal techno album from 1983 by foundation Detroit techno visionaries Rik Davis and Juan Atkins!   Heavily influenced...
  • 2×LP£22.99
    Out of stock
  • CD£9.99
    Out of stock
Lee Perry & His UpsettersRoaring Lion (16 Untamed Black Art Masters & Dub Plates)Pressure Sounds
Superb new 16 Track Pressure Sounds compilation from Lee Perry / Black Ark vaults (4th in the series) featuring unreleased mixes and dubplate mixes from...
GuidoMoods Of Future JoyTectonic
Bristol born producer Guido releases his second album ‘Moods Of Future Joy’ through home town label Tectonic Recordings. Alongside Joker and...
  • CD£8.99
    Out of stock
Rough Trade ShopsRough Trade Shops: Hip Hop 2015Rough Trade Shops
This selection is a snapshot of Hip Hop music from recent times selected by the staff at Rough Trade Shops, predominantly released on independent record...
  • 2×CD£11.99
    Out of stock
Rough Trade ShopsCounter Culture 13 Rough Trade
The Counter Culture 13 compilation collects the Rough Trade favourite releases of the last twelve months. The selection is varied and diverse in style....
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Rough Trade ShopsField Day 2014Rough Trade
Field Day returned to Victoria Park in June this year with as strong a line-up as ever. Rough Trade Shops and Tom Baker's festival have collaborated to...
  • 2×CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Rough Trade ShopsPrimavera Sound 2014: BarcelonaRough Trade
In 2013, Rough Trade opened a shop at Primavera for the first time. Now, Rough Trade and Primavera Sound have produced their first CD collaboration, showcasing...
  • 2×CD£14.99
    Out of stock
Rough Trade RecordsRecorded At The Automat: The Best Of Rough Trade RecordsRough Trade
Rough Trade Shops are set to release ‘The Best Of Rough Trade Records’, a wide ranging and authoritative collection from the last forty years...
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP£18.99
    Out of stock
    Lee PerryHoliness RighteousnessSecret Records Limited
    Features the tracks 'Starliner', 'I Believe In Miracles', 'Holiness' and more. 
    • CD£9.99
      Out of stock
    PangaeaFabricLive 73Fabric
    Hessle co-founder, Pangaea steps up to deliver the 73rd installment in the legendary FabricLive 73 compilation series. With his productions having traditionally...
    • CD£7.99
      Out of stock
    Lee Bannon Alternate/EndingsNinja Tune
    Fresh from producing the likes of NYC Joey Bada$$ and the Pro Era crew, NYC native Lee Bannon makes his debut on Ninja Tune. Coming with a slightly different...
    • CD£9.99
      Out of stock
    • 2×LP£16.99
      Out of stock
      Drexciya Journey Of The Deep Sea Dweller IVClone Classic Cuts
      The journey continues... Clone continue with the re-issue series of the early catalogue of one of the most groundbreaking and influential techno acts ever! Raw,...
      • CD£14.99
        Out of stock
      • 2×LP£17.99
        Out of stock