• 1. Cambodge 70
      • 2. Bateke Bojo
      • 3. Endophonie
      • 4. Sax Hi-Fi
      • 5. Cyclothimie
      • 6. Sanza Sallée
      • 7. Campus
      • 8. Osakaphonie

      Although discrete, the career of saxophonist Philippe Maté includes nonetheless several indispensable albums: be it with the Acting Trio, Jean Guérin (Tacet) or Jef Gilson (Workshop), his collaborations in a big band or quartet with Lawrence "Butch" Morris, his presence in the Saxophone Quartetand also on the brilliant L'Enfant assassin des mouche by Jean-Claude Vannier. As for the man in the background, Daniel Vallancien, a sound engineer rarely featuring on the sleeves, the collection Actuel on the BYG label owes much to him (he is at the controls behind Anthony Braxton, Don Cherry, Sonny Sharrock or Steve Lacy), the same goes for Saravah for who he notably recorded Areski, Brigitte Fontaine, Maurice Lemaître or the Cohelmec Ensemble: not bad for starters! What is more, Daniel Vallancien is one of a prestigious group of French recording engineers with open ears and often themselves musicians, even if only occasionally for some, including Bruno Menny, Daniel Deshays or Jean-Marc Foussat, who have all recorded remarkable albums as leaders. Behind this collaboration was the idea ofcreating music which was free, direct and spontaneous, while having also a minimum of advance planning. Music, according to the brief liner notes desirous to "remove itself from long and patient laboratory experiments ". So, there can be found here none of the sophisticated tools associated withelectroacoustic research, but mainly a recording mixer console, which, in the hands of Daniel Vallancien acts directly on the original instrumental sound in real time, modifying and multiplying it while respecting the natural flow. Be it Paul Méfano, Betsy Jolas, Gérard Grisey or Jacques Lejeune, many contemporary composers working in France have, at one time or another, includedthe saxophone in their work. Michel Redolfi, for example, with the GRIM and then the CIRM , experimented with saxophonist André Jaume on a convincing recording (Hardscore). Nothing, however, can compare to the singularity of the dialogue between Philippe Maté and Daniel Vallancien, which they themselves describe as being "serious, sarcastic orhumorous", with, here and there, "disturbing sounds". Words, however, even those used by the protagonists themselves, are insufficient to describe such a sonic object, difficult to identify and, it has to be said, extraordinary.

      Other Releases on SouffleContinu Records

      Jean Cohen-SolalFlûtes LibresSouffleContinu Records
      SouffleContinu reissue of the experimental jazz / fusion LP debut by French flautist, Jean Cohen-Solal. Originally released on Barclay in 1972.
      • Jean Cohen-Solal – Concerto Cyclique
      • Jean Cohen-Solal – Raga Du Matin
      • Jean Cohen-Solal – Matière
      • Jean Cohen-Solal – Quelqu'un
      Jean-François Pauvros & Gaby BizienPays NoirSouffleContinu Records
      Previously unreleased, the three tracks on Pays Noir come from recording sessions held at the same time as those for the cult No Man's Land produced by...
      • Jean-François Pauvros & Gaby Bizien – Gris Nez Et Blanc Nez
      • Jean-François Pauvros & Gaby Bizien – Au Pays Noir
      • Jean-François Pauvros & Gaby Bizien – La Deûle
      Cohelmec EnsembleNextSouffleContinu Records
      The Cohelmec Ensemble celebrate above all the pleasure of collective music-making. A group without a designated leader, they base their approach on reciprocal...
      • Cohelmec Ensemble – Teotihuacan (Ou EncorRe Le Tambourinaire Des Limbes)
      • Cohelmec Ensemble – ,…!
      • Cohelmec Ensemble – Desert Angel
      • Cohelmec Ensemble – Culculine D'Ancone