John Armstrong Presents South African Funk Experience Zulu, Funky Disco, Shebeen Jive, Jo 'Burg Funk, Spiritual Jazz-Dance, Shangaan & More

  • CD NSFUNK005£6.99
    Out of stock
  • 1. teaspoon & the waves – oh yeh soweto
  • 2. mahlathini & mahotella queens – wozan mahipi
  • 3. malombo – sangoma
  • 4. jabula ft. vicky mhlongo – jabula's happiness
  • 5. phuzushukela – intombi ibhinca isidwaba
  • 6. soul brothers – bayeza
  • 7. chris mcgregor's brotherhood of breath – andromeda
  • 8. kataki – hula hoop jive
  • 9. nelcy sedibe – kikizelani
  • 10. sipho 'hot six' mabuse – jive soweto
  • 11. j.j chauke & the titymeli young sisters – madyisa mbitsi
  • 12. oudu pukwana & spear – baloyi
  • 13. abafakasi – malume
  • 14. dick khoza – african jive (moto)
  • 15. gwigwi mrwebi – lily's express
  • 16. amaswazi emvelo – thululalele
  • 17. lulu & his boys & girls – zandile jive

The funkiest vintage grooves from 1960s-1980s South Africa!

Funky forgotten South African dancefloor gems most of which have never been issued on CD before! Styles range from traditional Zulu, Shangaan and Sotho funky sounds through to Jo'burg's 70s and 80s JB wannabees, and on into deep jazzfunk and spiritual dance-jazz work-outs!

In the myriad Afro Funk, Afro Beat and Afro Jazz reissues and compilations of the last few years, the name of South Africa has been unaccountably absent: South Africa has always had the largest music industry in the whole of Africa by a long, long way and "South African Funk Experience" features the artists who rocked the blacks-only shebeens, brothels and bars of Soweto, and the notorious migrant camps' Saturday night dances.

People also bought

Roy AyersLots Of LoveUniversal Sound
Roy Ayer’s superb ‘Lots of Love’ was originally released on his own independent Uno Melodic label in 1983. The album is one of his deepest...
  • CD£11.99
    Out of stock
  • 2×LP£13.99
    Out of stock
Keep On Dancin'A Tribute To The Godfather Of Disco Mel CherenWest End
Fantastic double-disc, 21 track compilation paying tribute to legendary NYC disco producer Mel Cheren! Mel was the financial backer of the legendary...
  • 2×CD£14.99
    Out of stock
Yaaba FunkAfrobeastYaabaphone
This is the debut album from South London based band Yaaba Funk! Their eleven piece band has become notorious for their energetic gigs playing a mixture...
  • CD£10.99
    Out of stock
Kalbata & Mixmonster feat. Little John & Jah ThomasSugar Plum PlumSoul Jazz Records
Deep dancehall dub bomb! Kalbata's new tune was recorded in Kingston, Jamaica, with two legendary Jamaican MCs, Jah Thomas and Little John, using live...
  • 1. Kalbata & Mixmonster Featuring Little John – Sugar Plum Plum
  • 2. Kalbata & Mixmonster Featuring Jah Thomas – Play Music Selecta
  • 3. Kalbata & Mixmonster – Sugar Plum Dub
  • View full info and tracklisting
  • 12"£8.99
    Out of stock
  • MP3 Release£1.75
    In stockAdd to Bag
Lloyd McNeill QuartetAsha (1969)Soul Jazz Records
New edition of this very rare deep spiritual jazz album, the debut release from flautist Lloyd McNeill released on his private-press Asha...
Disco DischargeDisco BoogieHarmless
The highly acclaimed Disco Discharge is back with 4 more double albums to be released in Spring 2010! The third instalment 'Disco Boogie' features 20...
  • 2×CD£7.99
    Out of stock
    The Har-You Percussion GroupThe Har-You Percussion GroupCubop
    Har-You's super-rare legendary Latin funk release originally came out on ESP in 1969/1970. Although the title says Percussion Group, this is actually a...
    • LP£11.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    Originals (3)Compiled By Sean PClaremont56
    Well it's the one so many of us have been waiting for, the missing, much anticipated 'Originals 3' compiled by disco and boogie maestro Sean P and without...
    • CD£10.99
      Out of stock
    Lagos Disco Inferno1975-1981Academy
    Wow! Twelve super-rare scorching red-hot slices from the Golden Era of Nigerian Disco! Compiled by Frank 'Voodoo Frank' Gossner who is quite possibly...
    • 2×LP£19.99
      Out of stock
    • CD£13.99
      Out of stock